You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Search and Replace for Beginners: find "whale" / replace with "followers"

in #writing8 years ago

Nice read. My thinking is pretty much in line with yours, and I touched on some similar sentiments in my latest post reflecting on my Steemit progress over the past 5 months. One of the greatest changes made to the platform so far is shortening the power down period. I think that will really hasten the distribution of Steem and accelerate the rise of a new dolphin class. The sooner that everyone who wants to cash out can do so, the better off we'll all be in the long run.

Sort:  

Yes, it makes Steem more flexible. Now that you mentioned it, I can see two levels of Power Up, one with power down in 2 years and one with power down in 3 months. With different levels of interest and Rshares power, of course. But maybe this is too complex.

That's an interesting idea, tying interest & voting power to power down lengths. Taken to extremes, I can imagine a sliding power down scale where you could just input a desired duration. Maybe the system would let you alter your choice, say, once a month, and that would change your interest & voting power accordingly (by the way do we still get interest? The only real accumulation I see is from curation rewards).

I think the interest on Steem Power isn't there anymore, that's just inflation, 9.5% per year but I may be wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79