You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Junkyard Angel

in #writing6 years ago

Dude this is the first time I have read a story on steemit. Congratulations on this journey.

"She's helped me find myself"

That last line made my stomach feel something that I normally don't. (that feels :D)

I too have few stories to share but I don't think there are people who can understand the language I want to share my stories in.

I think most of the time I don't get the proper words to describe an event or a feeling properly. Therefore, I dropped the plan to write them in English. I can write in Hindi, but most people won't understand.

Sort:  

Thank you, @cryptogecko. I appreciate your honest feedback. Judging by your response, you're a competent writer so I'm not sure if you mean you don't think your English is good enough or you want to write in a form of English/Hindi slang.

Nowadays, editors and publishers tend to shy away from dialect in stories - there are a few exceptions involving black literature in the USA but my advice to you is to write the way you speak and think and faithfully write dialogue the way you hear others speak and think. You are unique so your written voice will be different, but different is often better

Thank you so much for encouraging and suggesting a noob writer like me. I think my english is only good enough to get the message through but, when it comes to engaging users, I don't get good words. And, for that I have started using few apps to improve my vocabulary.

Has it never occurred to you that professional writers do the opposite and aim for a basic English level of readability in order to reach a mass market audience? In other words, give it a try and see how you get by.
Best wishes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89