You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Generating Ideas for Writing - Stealing Ideas

in #writing7 years ago

Tongue slightly in cheek with this post, I think, because you can't steal an idea. Even the same "idea", written by two different people, will be totally different. I guess maybe--gotta think about this a bit--you can't actually ever have the same idea in two heads at once, because no two heads are the same. Hey--what about a society where people can transmit ideas exactly from one person to another?

Feel free to steal. (haha)

Sort:  

You are right about a lot of things in this post, you even border on getting into the concept of tacit knowledge. That is a decent idea.

As I was making that comment, I was reading an article analyzing whether a spider's brain includes his web (jury is out), and I started thinking about how much of my brain is in THE web, and associated devices, and wondering what it means to "know" something. Then the abyss yawned, and I could see that if I went down it I wasn't getting any work done today. But it's there, waiting.

That is like the rabbit hole in Alice in Wonderland. Conscious awareness is very limited, subconscious information is much greater, tacit knowledge is significant, accessible information seems limitless, and original data is limitless for all we know.

Excellent point! This has been proven many, many times. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64451.72
ETH 2628.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81