Mom-isms - Things my Mom says

in #writing7 years ago

momisms.jpg

Source

Over the years my mom has had several sayings for different things. Listed below are a few of them and their meaning.

"Lord willing and the creek don't rise"
This is her response for making plans.

"By the grace of God and the skin of my teeth"
Her response whenever someone says they don't know how she raised six kids by herself.

"A cat ran over my grave"
Her response whenever she got a chill.

"Pink skies at night, no rain in sight"
Whenever there was pink skies

"Close the door, you weren't raised in a barn"
Her response when one of us left the door open.

"What are you shewing about? There aren't any chickens in here"
Whenever someone would shew.

"Because I said so"
If we questioned something she told us to do.

"Keep crying and I'll give you something to cry about"
Whenever one of the kids would whine about something.

"I brought you into this world and I can take you out"
Whenever we made her mad.

What are some "mom-isms" your mom has said over the years?

Sort:  

Laughing out loud Selena, I have to show this to my mom!

I upvoted and followed, below is my latest post of flowers outside of my home, Cheers!

https://steemit.com/photography/@harryhoudinei/picture-of-flowerz-outside-my-house-new-jersey-july-11-2017

@harryhoudinei

Thank you. Glad you liked it. Upvoted yours as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63889.31
ETH 2757.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66