Journaling prompts and ideas

in #writing8 years ago

Many people find it difficult to journal. Here are some questions I've asked of myself before I started.

  • Why do I journal? 
  • How long should my post be? 
  • Should I write in, a book, scraps of paper, a laptop or ? 
  • Should I write every DAY, every OTHER day, once a week?  
  • Is this a memoir? Or just a place to preserve thoughts and feelings and events? 

My journal contains a lot of everything. 

  • quotes that I want to remember 
  • words written on angles all over the page
  • song lyrics 
  • prayers
  • things that are bothering me as well as things that have made me happy

≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥

Also I don't edit my journal - I found that if I do, I lose the intent and heart.

I usually feel a bit anxious before I start and my mind has a hard time settling. I have to remind myself that this is MY story, MY journal and these are MY rules and no one has to read it. I'm not writing for the masses. Sometimes I don't know where to begin or feel that I have nothing to say. I write that and it gives me a start –I'll write the next thing that comes to my mind and the next and the next after that.

≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥≤≥


Here are some prompts I've gathered over the years. There are no rules or regulations to follow. It's your book.


prompts and ideas

a bucket list (use this as a springboard later on to describe each item in your bucket list - the 5W's and H)

choose 5 people and write a sentence or paragraph to describe each

what did I learn today or yesterday?

write about an old argument but from another person's perspective

grab a quote - write it down - you can add a note about what it means to you or highlight the key themes in it

what colors do you like? why? which do you dislike? why?

plans, purposes, pursuits - where do you want to be next year? 5 years from now?

write about your first love, how it felt, describe the person

today, I want to accomplish ....... (not a "to do" list)

who has made an impression on you and what was it?

if you can draw - sketch hands, feet, eyes, etc - what are they seeing, feeling, knowing?

look around you - describe with words, not feelings, what you are seeing, noticing

I believe .........

I remember the time .......

I am grateful for ........

gratitude means .......

a real friend is .......

forgiveness is.......


Here is a quote to get you started if you like.   

We could never learn to be brave and patient if there were only joy in the world. ~Helen Keller


One last thing.....KEEP IT SIMPLE!!! Your style will develop.


~Deborah

@countrygirl

Sort:  

these are excellent tips because not everyone keeps a journal and some have never even tried because the process looks daunting. You've simplified it and made it fun. I want to try some of these things. I think this post will be hot and trending because there are a lot of people out there that need a tiny nudge. Good work!

That's kind of you to say. Thanks!

Nice article! Good tips! I like to keep a journal both for myself and to pull material for posting from. (It sometimes takes some heavy editing to make it PG enough to post publicly) ;)

I've read some of your posts and love your photography. Thanks for your encouragement here!

Hello @countrygirl,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.004 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

You sure did make it a lot easier for me now. Thanks!

I'm glad to be of service. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66804.20
ETH 2581.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66