Sort:  

Whoa! Nice comment, @corpsvalues!

Most of what I remember about our garden itself is the fresh tomatoes and gnats. I had seen a gas mask in a military surplus store once when visiting a cousin in Charlotte when I was about seven and I fantasized all that summer about buying one the next time I went to Charlotte! I was going to be gnat free! I actually did get to visit the store the next spring and found out that the used mask cost more money than I had ever had combined. The gnats won.

I fantasize about a full body hazmat suit when I am mowing and getting swarmed by gnats and horse flies... then I realize that I am dripping sweat wearing shorts and a tshirt and that any additional clothing would probably kill me.

It's either heat stroke or bug bites!

I wear jeans and boots when I'm working outdoors...and most of the rest of the time. Makes life easier at least when I remember to spray OFF on my boots and arms to keep the redbugs and ticks at bay. A fast riding mower helps with the gnats. Thankfully, few horseflies around.

Sadly no riding mower, just 5 acres and a push mower.
That makes my favorite season of the year: winter! Because oddly enough for me, shoveling snow is the easiest outdoor activity of the year.

Oh, Noes! Five acres! That has got to be a major chore to mow all that! You really look forward to the challenge, I suppose. How many times during the growing season do you cut it?

It is pretty much 2-3 hours at the end of every day, 5 days a week. As soon as I am done at one end, it is time to start over. I could do without the challenge because it doesn't leave me much time for improving the property =) but I won't be here too much longer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44