On Swearing

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

As an Australian I am born with an innate genetic affinity for profanity. I love to garnish conversation wherever I can with the odd shit, prick, dick, fuck or any of its infinite derivatives and variants. The basics. I like to do it because only then do I feel like I am being myself, being genuine. The intent is for the listener to take it as a signal that I feel comfortable around them. When I meet someone who swears during introductory conversation, I feel a greater connection to that person.

It is not intended to cause the listener offense. It is not intended to give a perception that I am uncouth, of low intelligence or from a lower socio economic background, or that I am disrespecting that person. Generally, in Australia, none of these occur. Be it in the city, the suburbs, the country, your new girlfriend's parents house at the dinner table, Australians typically don't mind it when you swear.

America is different. American cultural norms dictate that you call strangers "sir" instead of "mate", and save the swearing for people that you really know. That is not to say they don't enjoy swearing. Plenty of my American friends and colleagues swear. Just certainly not at work unless the occasion truly warrants it, and almost never while making acquaintances. My wife and I always feel the eyebrows raise when we let slip our genetic instincts whilst conversing with American strangers. By and large though, we get a pass, because "oh they are just quaint foreigners". It is a pass I do personally enjoy holding.

One of my favorite stories is of an American working a blue collar worksite in Australia. "How do you like it here?" I asked. "Oh it's great, people are really laid back. I'm just so not used to being sworn at all the time!" I laughed and explained that is simply part of our culture, and generally is a good thing for him. "There is this one guy I work with all the time, and he keeps calling me a cunt!" "That means he likes you!" I laughed. "I KNOW!!" he laughed back, kind of exasperated.

So the big question: can I swear on Steemit? What are the potential repercussions here? What do I stand to lose, or gain...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38