Where do I find some Consistency?

in #writing6 years ago

49135485_10156037919666447_4745236999999324160_n.jpg

That is true, consistency is the key to success but asking for it gives the implication that we lack it somehow. That isn't true so we should just stop asking and I'll tell you why.

The Problem with Consistency.

Consistency is not some elusive thing that needs to asked or begged for. Would you believe me if I told you have all the consistency you need, maybe even more. If you’re like me, that would be a definite no. I can list off quite a few examples of situations or areas in my life where I am not consistent. Immediately a justification would come based on the fact that if it was, my world would look and feel completely different; I would have the life I wanted and dreamed of.

So what’s the problem?

It’s simply a misallocation of funds.

Recently, this matter with consistency came to my mind with the help of my hubby. I’m assuming that all married couples have pet behaviors that the other spouse does that can really shake your head for the continuation of the behavior just doesn’t make sense; be it the toilet paper roll or toothpaste cap to quote the clichés. There can be subtle hints given or things that make us laugh in memes done to try and stop it. In our home, I contribute my fair share (maybe more than my fair share lol) of those expletive opportunities for my patient hubby. I will share with you the latest gold star noggin scratcher brought to my attention recently. For some unknown reason, I leave paper products in my pockets and they manifest themselves in the clothes dryer. For five straight years I have had some type of paper product in the dryer after finishing a load of laundry. With my help, my hubby has become a savant on what type of paper product it is and its ability to withstand being laundered. He even showed me which ones he believed could be reusable! You can only achieve that with consistency folks.

I read this meme today and it reminded me of my issue with the ever present paper product. I can’t say that every time I put a Kleenex in my pocket, I make an intention to throw it in the basket (maybe i’m onto something there). I always place it there for convenience sake and it is quickly forgotten until the laundry is done. Funny, even though this has been brought to my attention, many times and in many ways, the pattern remains the same. Apparently I have excellent paper combustion skills, for once I had paper products explode all over our laundry area. Unfortunately I had a wad of napkins in my hoodie pouch that I had grabbed to put in my car and they didn’t make it there. I had thrown it in with a blanket that was in the wash for some forgettable reason. POOF. Needless to say, that brand didn’t score well on my hubby’s washability scale. That was three years ago folks, and I just did laundry last week and pulled out two pieces of cleaned tissue. I was totally aghast and quickly put them in the garbage. I must admit that I tried to place them as low as I could in the bag so my hubby couldn’t see them; as if that is gonna help. The bag will fill up with paper products soon enough for it has for the last 5 years.

So the problem here is not that lack of consistency. The issue here is that instead of using my consistency powers for success like the meme says, I am using it on washing Kleenex.

I am just feeling the weight of that realization now. I sit here just flabbergasted that it happens over and over again. Maybe that’s the magic. Find something very small in your life that doesn’t seem like such a big deal and could be even too little to make a difference. Don’t underestimate the power of that pattern for if it is not being used for that little thing it can be used for something better. What if that area in my life where I want to be different only needs a little extra amount of consistency to become a reality and here I'm using it up on Kleenex.

Like with my paper products, I am going to set the intention of changing my Kleenex pattern to one where I empty my pockets when I get home. It’ll be interesting to see how long the pattern takes to break for this has been a lifetime pattern and where I will put that new level of energy.

If you want to work on your consistency power with me, pick something small and let’s change this together. Would love to hear from you!

Sort:  

Congratulations @commonguru! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72