Jacquie try the pickles!!!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

just try the pickles.jpg

Have you ever read the classic children’s novel by Dr. Seuss, “Green Eggs and Ham”?

green-eggs-and-ham.jpg

It’s a mesmerizing story about two friends, one unnamed and the other called Sam-I-Am. Throughout the book Sam-I-Am strongly suggests, in his sing song silly way, to his friend to try some green eggs with his ham. His friend attempts to escape his persistence in various ways and retorts back in like fashion all the while refusing to try the combination. Finally he tries them only to find out that he loves him and they are his new favorite thing.

That story was my favorite story as a child. Just now, while talking to my mother, she mentioned how it made her green in the face with having to read it over and over. “Again, mommy” was what I said to get the beloved tale told to me again. She even resorted to getting me a vinyl copy so that she would be free from telling it. Little did I know that I would live that reality as an adult only this time it was with green pickles.

cucumbers-886036_960_720.jpg

Last fall my mom made some freezer bread and butter cucumber pickles. Once during a conversation, I was describing the portions of my hubby’s lunch and I mentioned how much he enjoyed pickles with his sandwich. She then, with excitement, began to share how she found this amazing recipe for freezer pickles and that she would make some for him. My response was not what she expected for I recoiled in disbelief because I didn't think that they would be any good. I couldn’t fathom how freezing them would keep them crunchy when they thawed and the thought totally grossed me out; I even shivered. I tried to share my displeasure to her, much like the character in the book, and she happily just persisted like Sam-I-Am:

Jacquie try the pickles.
You will like them.

Nope. Never. Would not. Could Not.

She swore that they were excellent but I didn't believe her; I thought that they would be disgusting. She tried yet again:

Jacquie try the pickles.
They are really good.

Nope. Never. Would not. Could Not.

With the recoil at the thought of those slimy cucumbers, I quickly changed the subject. I was successful and the pickles were thankfully forgotten until we were discussing her next visit down to come see us. I couldn’t believe it when she mentioned that she would bring the pickles; the woman just would not stop! No sooner was she unpacked when out came this little frozen bag of cucumbers with my hubby’s name written on them. OMG! There were many things she forgot to bring but of course she remembered to bring the damn pickles. I inwardly groaned and said a silent prayer to the pickle gods that they were frozen so we couldn’t try them; didn’t mean she didn’t ask:

Jacquie try the pickles.
We could have some while I’m here

Nope. Never. Would not. Could Not.

She asked to thaw a bag out and I somehow dodged the request mumbling about trying them later. I took the bag with feigned interest and stuck them in the freezer; out of sight out of mind.

Months later as I was cleaning out the freezer I came across the bag of pickles and with a final decision I threw out the frozen pickles in the garbage. The next morning my mother called and yep, you guessed it she asked about them.

Jacquie did you try the pickles?
I was MORTIFIED.

Are you kidding? Even as a child whenever I did something guilt-ridden she would randomly ask me a question about it; damn that woman and her uncanny ability to catch me in situations like this! My mind flashed to the pickles that were sitting in the trash can and I made a decision to try them just like the character in the book. I was laying down on my bed, so I got up and rifled through the trash until I found the bag. Now before you groan, the pickles were each individually wrapped in another protective bag so there was no chance of contamination. I grabbed the surprisingly clean bag and opened it. I took out one of the still cold pickles and popped it in my mouth.

boom.jpg

At that moment I totally understood the life changing, 180 degrees turn from disgust to delight, that the character felt in the book; those pickles were the best I had ever tasted. She added a little heat to them for my hubby’s sake making them the perfect blend of sweet and spicy. Needless to say, my hubby got very little of the pickles for I inhaled all three ziploc bags within a couple of days. In my defense, when asked, my hubby said they were just okay; just okay... so in my mind that was all the justification I needed to demolish them as quickly as possible lol.

Is there anything in your life in which you are having such a strong aversion towards and that you have never tried? You could be throwing away an absolute delight and not knowing it. What do you have to lose? If you don’t like it then you are no worse off but what if you do? This experience will have me questioning any further aversions let me tell you!

Sort:  

Jacquie would you could please try the pickles ...moms are always right.... remember that !!!!ahahahahah yuk green eggs and ham yuk!.. next aversion you have to try is liver and onions ahahahahahaha Jacquie taste it.

I can gladly say that I have tried almost all renditions of that horrid dish and won't be trying it again any time soon lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69344.89
ETH 3347.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74