Dream Board Detours - Vehicular Dream-slaughter

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

dreamslaughter.jpg

If a poll was taken, one of the most popular items on a dream board would be a car/truck of some sort. As you can see from my dream board, I didn’t stray too far from the curve since position #2 holds a car.

My Dream Board

The irony of my dream board placement was that I had a difficult time finding a picture to represent my dream car for one simple reason: I didn’t have one. When asked the question, “If time and money were no object, what car would you want?”, I completely froze. Not having any idea what car I wanted put a damper on my ability to dream build. Dream building is another heavily promoted activity for motivators and teachers of the Law of Attraction. Disciples are encouraged to go and touch their dream items because apparently by incorporating all five senses a belief is created which intensifies the transmission. The Law teaches that whatever transmission is sent, the Universe will work diligently to grant that request. You are promised a direct correlation between the intensity of the transmission and the speed your dream item comes to you. Sounds simple enough.

Black Beauty

Now you may be wondering why I would put a car on there if it wasn’t a dream of mine? Well, I was a good little minion and just followed the format given. When I pondered on which car to choose I did have a brief experience on which to draw on. For the past 8 years I had driven a car that kicked ass; I owned a black 2005 VW TDI 5-speed Jetta Wagon. I LOVED that car and I had it delivered right from the factory with my specifications. Volkswagen had a tag-line associated with their brand that stated “Driver’s Wanted” and that was exactly what they delivered. Other than when driving on bald tires, I never lost confidence in the handling of the car because I had put it to the test and it passed. Since that was the limit of my fun car experience, I placed a VW in that dream board slot. I loved driving fast and furious and earned nicknames of “speed demon” and “Danica Patrick”. On one occasion in Las Vegas, a group of 5 of us (three were men) were late for an appointment and a driver was needed to get us there; unanimously it was decided that it was me. Guess my reputation preceded me lol. My friend, who knew my driving style well, searched through the local radio stations to find “cruising music” as he called it and we took off. I had look outs in the back seat for police and spots in traffic, in my ear I would hear “LEFT….. RIGHT….. LEFT”. Needless to say we made it and one of the passengers exclaimed to me as he exited the car, “Damn woman you can drive”!

Black and Blue

Alas the good times had to stop rolling for I had accumulated quite a collection of speeding tickets. I received this letter from my insurance company,

Dear Jacqueline,

We at “SquishFun” Insurance regret to inform you that in the event of another speeding ticket you will violate the allowable limit of demerits and your license will be suspended.

Gee Whiz, why so serious? Cyndi Lauper stated it best in her hit single, “Girls just wanna have fun”!. Good thing that the speeding tickets generated by photo radar didn’t register and generate demerits or I would have definitely lost my license long before that. There was a feeling of freedom and wild abandon when I was speeding; it was like a knot would let go deep inside. That and the notoriety I received gave me blips of happiness in a rather dark experience.

The time had come for me to move to the United States to be with my husband when I received the saddest news; my car wasn’t legal according to emission standards and couldn’t be brought across the border. Apparently that chapter of my life had closed and a new reality needed to be created; I didn’t want my husband’s insurance rating to be affected by my driving habits.

Soon a new job in a nearby town created the opportunity for a new car. Despite my love for VW’s my husband and I headed in a completely a different direction with the car we chose. Here was our “new to us” car:

IMG_6564.JPG
"Loser-Cruiser"

Black Hole

What a gutless wonder! The car served it’s purpose though for I haven’t had a speeding ticket in the last 2 and a half years. YAWN! It wasn’t until I started looking into the Law of Attraction material again that my dream board entry snapped into my mind and I inwardly groaned at the thought of dream building again. That activity completely made me feel uncomfortable for my income level constituted shopping at Walmart and at this rate couldn’t ever afford a car of this value. Often the sales personnel gave me the look like they knew it too. Yuck.

Unfortunately at that time I didn’t realize the experience was a reflection of my belief surrounding my income status not a judgement. As I sat in the car, all I could think of was the countless reasons of why I wouldn't ever get a car like this. I got so wrapped up in the “how” and couldn’t see a logical way for the Universe to create a reality for me where this car could exist. Remember the Law of Attraction doesn’t have judgement or discernment, it simply responds in kind; if I send doubt out as my transmission then it creates people, situation and experiences that mimic that feeling. That salesman was strategically placed by the Universe for I sent out that transmission of disbelief and he answered the call. There was no coincidence that I chose that dealership or encountered those salespeople. I had long orchestrated that event months ago with my thoughts of disbelief about a new car; I was dream busting not dream building.

Black and White

So what’s the answer? Disbelief is the killer of every dream and the orchestrator of every nightmare; it’s as black and white as that. My life is a grand total of my beliefs or better yet my disbeliefs. Do I have any pure beliefs where I am certain that I can receive the gifts promised? It can be as simple as getting the perfect parking spot every time I need it. Or do I approach the situation with disbelief mumbling to myself that I never get good parking? The Law has no choice but to reward the transmission; you submit disbelief and you get that reality. The misconception lies in our confusion concerning the true nature of our outer world. The general consensus is that our outer world is responsible for our inner thinking for we are only reacting to those influences. What if those influences were originally transmitted from our lack of belief? Something to think about. Then those responses are simply the end of the equation like the food we get at a fast food restaurant; you ordered a burger and fries and that’s what you get.

My new understanding regarding my accountability in the creation of this reality forced me to look at this differently; it wasn't just the fact that a new car equated the need for speed. That disbelief of acquiring a new car had me travelling backward from my goal of a new vehicle for that’s exactly the transmission I was sending to the Universe. But how do I tackle such a huge disbelief? I started to think about what good feeling I could have when thinking of a dream car and all I could come up with was the exhilaration driving my VW. This allowed me to feel good about my car for I didn’t get wrapped in the parameters of what car I wanted or how I was to get it; both stumbling blocks and prime areas for disbelief and doubt to rear their ugly head. Now the Law could receive a pure transmission of the vehicle I would want based on how I felt and this opened the door for a surprise to occur. We don't know what we don't know so my dream car may be something I've never dreamed of. I will keep you posted on how this reality manifests itself. Exciting times ahead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97