You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So, what if we are about to go extinct? (Ecotrain)

in #writing7 years ago

It made me think of a song; Om shanti by Edo and Jo.
The seasons change but we are here
The stars will spin but we'll remain
Th earth will shake
and the seas will salt
The world may end but we'll remain and
Om Shanti Om.

Sort:  

Nice song. But what does it mean.. The world will end but we'll remain? How would you explain that? Sorry if it's a silly question. I'm sure I've missed the deeper meaning.

It makes me feel like our souls can not go extinct. I guess I believe our essence will live on no matter what happens and maybe even the soul of the earth too, until everything is created again. It's a bit like what you say about having at least this moment here and now where you are enjoying yourself, that is also essential and so somehow eternal even if it's just a single moment. How about that huh? ;-)

Or this one from Bob Marley: 'Have no fear for atomic energy
'Cause none of them can stop the time' ( redemption song) also reminds me of our eternity. <3

Well, yes, it's very comforting to believe that we have a soul that will live on - perhaps going from one life to the next, or else existing in some eternal place, like heaven or hell, as many people believe.
But what caused this crisis was the thought - what if there is nothing else? What if this is all there is for us - this one life, this one planet, this one chance to do the right thing, this one moment... and we blew it.

I think it would be tragic to be the cause of our own extinction, if it could yet be prevented. I can imagine getting to heaven and God saying, 'You had one job...'

Bob marley was a prophet. His soul lives on in everything

Do you really feel that way? And that you as a person failed at it, or we as the human race? I think God can not expect us to do more then our best and I think I am and if I may be so free, I think you are too ;-)

I do feel that if we cause our own extinction, and also mass extinction of other lifeforms which share the planet with us, then it would be an unspeakable tragedy - if we could have prevented it and failed to do so.

I try not to have any expectations, and I don’t expect God does either.

Ah, that's so sweet. No, now that you mention it, I don't think God has expectations... That feels kind of nice :-) Off course it would be a tragedy, but you can not hold yourself accountable for it, when you' re doing your best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63277.21
ETH 2487.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71