Kill Your Masters - Daily Meditation #11

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Tell me your excuses. Why aren't doing what you want to do? After you answer, I'll hold a mirror up to your face, and you will see yourself in shackles.

Excuses are chains that keep you bound to your own bullshit. But excuses are worse than chains, because they aren't even real, yet they still keep you imprisoned. When we imagine that we are enslaved to our excuses, we become our own mental masters that we blindly obey with slavish conviction.

"I don't have enough time." This means you aren't making this goal a priority yet.

"There is no opportunity for that." You are explaining away your lack of success and failing to acknowledge your lack of effort.

"I want to do that, but it's not me." You are telling yourself stories that give you permission to not challenge yourself.

How long are you going to allow excuses to dictate the course of your life? How long are you going to fail to recognize excuses as mere excuses, yet treat them like shackles preventing you from acting? How many mental masters are you allowing to run your life?

Rise up,

Realize the shackles have been loosened,

And kill your masters.

Like this post? Please feel free to follow me

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Main image created in Canva; underline credit



Sort:  

Excuses can ruin a good thing!!

They are the very thing that stop that good thing from coming to fruition. I was so full of them for so long. I have a few more masters to rise up against still!

Thanks for your support @kimmiecfields.

I don't want to, and you can't make me! means you are a childish brat and need to grow up. Yes these excuses will hold us all back. Good to have them out in the open and be clear about them. Prioritise, strategise, and be determined. This is my goal for 2018. So far so good.

It's an adult thing to admit when we are facing real limitations or just excuses. It's sometimes hard to tell the difference. Thanks for commenting.

Fabulous post! My biggest struggle at the moment is figuring out what the hell it is that I want. I mean, I'm really REALLY enjoying writing and just being... but I suppose there is something more there that's going to burst forth one of these days. I try not to let anything get in my way when my dreams speak to me. You have some great, concise advice and another great post!

@byn

There's a proverb that I live by that says, "Cast your bread upon the waters, and after many days it will come back to you." My understanding of this is that we should try many things we might enjoy- to "sow our seed"- and hopefully we will reap what we sow. Good luck to you, @byn!

I have no problem trying new things and that is very much how it goes. I just kind of throw myself out there and into my project or dream or whatever and it always turns into some sort of adventure or learning experience :) I've done that many times in my life and had a lot of fantastic adventures (and hopefully learned a lot from the failures I had!) I think I'm just enjoying being a little more chill at the moment... which is also fine with me! :)

I love your outlook!

But, but, but, ..... I'm not making excuse. I'm upvoting this post in agreement and returning it for all to see. I'll be no slave and I hate excuses.

Thank you! Very kind of you to resteem. It helps immensely.

It's good to hate excuses. They really do determine our behavior and make us behave slavishly.

The title took me a little aback because of this "When you see the Buddha kill him". But the post a lot of sense to me. Keep up the good work bro and Bananas 🍌🍌🍌 out. For today. See you on your next post. Bye. 🍌🍌🍌🍌.

Bananas are the only master worth obeying. Long live the banana cult.

Yup. Would you like to be my assistant?

I'm glad I found your post. I am feeling kind of hopeless these days as I've really become a slave imprisoned in my own mind, lacking motivation.. :)

We all are to a degree. Just try to continue to he self-aware. Thanks for reading!

Ahh, one really needs to get to the bottom of their excuses to figure out why they aren't doing something and why their life is how it is. Once they do that, they need pure commitment and dedication to improving the situation. This is just so hard to do, but definitely doable. Like the honesty in your post!

Thank you. I strive to be honest, so I am happy when I see someone detect that.

Being honest with ourselves, discerning what is an excuse, and what is a legitimate limitation, is an difficult task. I still bullshit myself all the time. It's a life long project.

I agree with the sentiment of your post but I have a different perspective on the thesis. To me beliefs are our masters and excuses are a way to maintain our beliefs. If we could only align our beliefs with reality it would go a long way to alleviating the need for excuses. As long as we have the ability to re-examine our beliefs they cannot enslave us. There's no need to kill anything but false beliefs.

Thanks for the post!

I actually like your take on it more! hahaha

That's a very good way of putting it. I was trying to encourage people to align their beliefs with reality, and did put an emphasis on excuses rather than beliefs. The sentiment is the same.

But honestly. Your way of putting it is a little cleaner. I like it.

I have a bit of an obsession with the idea that beliefs are our masters so I see virtually everything from that perspective. My beliefs about beliefs are my masters so now who’s in control? Is the realization enough to give me control? Maybe, but probably not as much as I would like. ;-)

Tough one! Mental masters on the loose. :D

But you're on the loose too! Hunt them down!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66551.16
ETH 3591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.97