//hearts and hotels//

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

49ACD838-7033-40DB-81E4-E9D71568284D.jpeg
source

I thought when people leave, they vacate space for others
But I was wrong
And this perpetual feeling of loneliness is what I deserve for the sin that I’ve committed
Yes, I’ve sinned
For I've thought that hearts are like hotels
People check in, people check out
And the heart? It’s never alone
There’s always someone there
Someone to replace
Someone to open the doors and the windows
Someone to make it feel alive
Someone or the other, always there
But I took it way too casually
Because sometimes
When people are in a rush
They forget to take their belongings with them
Just like that hair band I found at that hotel’s washroom
And just like the memories you forgot to take away with you
But unlike hotels
Hearts don't give room to others until there's nothing left of strangers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95