Home Is Where The Heart Is.

in #writing6 years ago

background-1102710_1280.jpg
Source

No matter how far you go, there is really no place like home. It is really true what they say, i thought as i watched the busy street from my window seat in my apartment.

I closed my eyes and wished to hear the excited voices of my younger ones. I would give anything to hear my mother shout my full name in that annoyed tone i have come to recognise so well. It was reserved for just when she was displeased with me.

I smile as i pictured her facial expression at that moment. Lol...who said it was easy to raise seven children, more so when five of them are boys. Stubborn ones too.

I sighed as i opened my eyes. I was homesick, it was that simple. I left my seat and walked to my bed. I sat down heavily with a depressed heart. I laid down on the bed as i thought of home. I closed my eyes and let my thoughts drift as i let myself dream.

I dreamt of that old tired city where my home was somewhere in western Nigeria. I was on my way home! I was so excited. It was exactly one year since i was home. I greeted the woman who sold provisions on the street. She looked me over thoroughly as she responded. I was so sure she was taking down every detail to gossip about the next day. That was her main hobby.

I crossed the street and walked up to our gate. I knocked and listened, no answer. I knocked again more anxiously and was pleased to hear movements on the other side.

"Who is it?" My little brother cried out.

"Who else would you be expecting?" I replied in the same tone.

I heard a squeal of excitement.

"She is back! Mummy, she is back."

He opened the gate and i was enveloped by the sweetest bundle ever. My brother had grown so much in a year. He was as tall as i was. The others came over and we kept hugging and talking aloud at the same time.
It took a few moments to calm down.

Then i was served my best meal by my sweet mother. Her soup was delicious as usual. It was a perfect blend with just the right amount of pepper( i love pepper in my food). That groundnut soup was on point!

I let myself relax as i listened to them all gist me about all i had missed since i left.

My brother was just narrating an event just concluded in his school when i was rudely brought back to earth by persistent knocking. My friend had come calling.

I sighed as i thought of all my imaginations. I must make them all come true. I would surely create time to go home.

I let myself listen to Elvis Presley's home is where the heart is. I got the video from youtube for your viewing pleasure.

Enjoy!

Written for invent a future memory contest hosted by @anibas.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Congratulations!,@cheekah Your post has been upvoted by @reachout


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn



Major Upvote Sponsor : @bleepcoin

SP Donation by @rufans & @solomon507


Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15