A Tribute To My Dead Cat.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

cat-3418815_1280.jpg
Source

I could not stop my cry when before my very eyes, Tom was killed...and it was all my fault. My parents had warned me to stop playing so close to the road but i just won't listen.
My disobedience caused the death of my dear pet.

Helpless tears dripped down my eyes as i cradled his dying body in my arms. The one at fault just shouted at me and drove on unconcerned. He didn't care that he had just ended the life of a little girl's favourite buddy.

My parents found me still on the road with Tom's dead body on my chest. I kept stroking and talking to him as if he were still alive.

They took me home and buried him at the backyard.

I remember how much i had hated him on sight when my parents brought him home when i was eleven. They had been doing a favour for a friend who had too many kittens and wanted to get rid of most of them. Thus they got a free kitten and i was given the job of taking care of it.

But how was i supposed to love a cat who in movies were portrayed as evil? They are supposed to be bringers of evil and could get possessed by evil spirits.

The summary of it all was i was terrified of the poor animal which was innocent. He warmed his way into my heart in such a short time that my illusions were forgotten. He really was a girl's best friend.
His death really got to me and till now i haven't gotten a pet. Maybe i should think of getting one again. I need a new best friend...lol.

Written for Best PET Tribute Contest hosted by @averageoutsider.

Sort:  

Nice remembrance of Tom...Isn't it odd how we can change the way we feel about an animal, after getting one as a baby and caring for it? Thanks for sharing.

Yeah, it really is odd. Surprising how dislike turns to love.

First impressions are not always correct my friend. Sometimes love just happens :)

Wow! That was quite hard and emotional to read.

Remember you were just a child, don't be too hard on yourself when the memory strikes. It is clear to all that you loved him immensely.

Thankyou for sharing your clearly painful story with us. :D

Thank you. You understand me well.

Congratulations!,@cheekah Your post has been upvoted by @reachout


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn



Major Upvote Sponsor : @bleepcoin

SP Donation by @rufans & @solomon507


Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12