THE BOY BY THE TAP.

in #writing7 years ago

It was a Saturday morning, a regular Saturday morning like all the Saturdays that have gone by since I can remember Saturdays. Well in most Nigerian homes, Saturday has been ingrained in everyone’s mind as the day for chores.
Sonia was not the chore type, but today she woke up fuel with energy for cleaning, I watched from where I was sitting as she brought out all the dirty things from her room, among these where clothes, shoes, bags, and her all famous makeup bag; it looked so dirty.

I and many others passing by where really surprised to see her in such a working mood, you have to understand this does not always happen but when it does, you would be amazed at how good she can be when she set her mind out to do stuff. I thought to myself, so I wasn’t the only one? I wondered how we lazy around can for so many days and not do stuff knowing that we can do them and do them really well. I and the many humans of the world never ceases to amaze me.

Her mum left very early for women meeting in church seeing as it was the first Saturday of the month and they were devout Catholics. Usually with Sonia there was always a reason for cleaning, I have known her all our lives and yesterday I heard her tell her mum about the issues she was having with her boyfriend, so as I watched her, I could tell she was drowning her frustration in her cleaning. I felt sorry for her, she makes so many mistakes despite her better judgement and when it doesn’t go well, she ends up sad and depressed and I wonder again at the way humans live and here I was staring at the subject of my story and wondering, how do we do the same thing all the time and expect a different result. It’s just something that has to change.

On she went polishing her bag with such diligence and I laugh and wished she could put that much effort into so many other things in her life, I was drawn out of my thoughts by her voice, she was asking her younger brother to put water on the gas for her that she needs it to wash her make up brushes. Lol, girls and make-up, do they really need all that much.

I believe by now you must be thinking, hey you that is just sitting and staring at someone, don’t you have something productive to do? Oh well here is your answer, I have something productive to do, oh indeed I am even working at the moment. I am studying the main character for this piece I am writing that you are currently reading. Thank you.

On she went with her chores, all the while oblivious to my presence, I watched regardless, that was the point anyways. From bags, to brushes, to the already soaked clothes she went working so hard at it like she did not want any error, like she was tired of the tardiness.

I watched as my main character went about her choices and for a moment I was lost in thought, I has something that has been running through my mind, how do I handle the issue of procrastination and lying. These two things seem to be the biggest challenge I have, as a matter of fact lying has cost me two relationship; I lie to the people I am dating basically because I do not want to hurt their feelings and that is exactly what I end up doing, ironic isn’t it, as for my procrastination, I have stacks of book looking at me, books I need to read, I have always loved reading but I don’t understand what was going on with me.

A voice calling my name disrupted my train of thought, udoka, udoka, the voice called and i was pulled out of the black hole I went into. I looked up to see Sonia standing a few inches from me; ah Udoka where did you travel to nah, how did you just get lost in your mind like that I have been calling and for a moment there I thought I had been made, I thought she had caught me in the act of studying her. Sonia, hey what’s up? I asked and she replied saying she needed my help to carry water, relieve flooded my mind because trust me I was not in the mood to argue or explain myself and my actions to anyone. I was in no mood for that! So I was grateful when all she wanted was help with carrying her water. We got to the tap and she started fetching, and there was another lady at the tap washing, and then came a boy, with his buckets and he was staring at her, I could tell he wanted to talk to her, I felt for him because she would never give him a second glance and in a vain attempted to talk to her he went all;

BOY: Hi Sonia, is the girl over there washing is she your sister?

SONIA: no, she is not. Why?

BOY: because she is fair and so are you

I watched as a look crossed over Sonia’s face and the look screamed what the hell dude?

SONIA: no she is not, are all fair people in the world related???

In my head I was like wow you did not have to go all savage on the guy he just wanted to talk. On cue as if reading my mind, she looked at me and said, that’s the worsts pick up line ever, because trust me he just wanted a chance to hit on me and I don’t want anything to do with him.

At that point, I wondered is she just full of herself or did she just save herself the stress of having to be polite and put up with the guy and later tell him no??? I helped her with her water and came in to write for you to read.


for reading.

images from pixabay. com, shutter stock and free stock picture

Sort:  

Real experiences... Awkward too....

Lol, tell me about it.

😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68373.55
ETH 2650.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71