You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Dolphinschool Bootcamp Day 1, How to FInd and Befriend Your Ideal Follower!

in #writing6 years ago

Part 1...

  1. How many people do you currently follow?
    - 208 (This number kept changing as I read on!)
  2. How many followers do you currently have?
    - 439
  3. How many followers would you like to gain in 10 days?
    - I have been seeing 500 on the horizon... so let's shoot for that!
  4. What is your beginning SP?
    - 166 SP
  5. How many votes do your most successful posts get now?
    - On average around 10-15 on my most successful posts.

I have already learned some interesting things! The tools were invaluable. I have poked around in there before... but clearly, should have dug a little deeper. The UpVoters was awesome! I wish I had known about that from the beginning.

Following and Followers had been a hiccup for me on Steemit so far. I followed a million people in the very beginning and it clogged up my feed with much spam. I have come to find it is much more efficient to follow those of value! I didn't know what or where value came from in the beginning. It's not the trending section or those with big numbers next to their name or post value payouts!

I am sure we will all understand value much better once this boot camp is over! Great start. Now... to find a follower or two and get a post going!

Sort:  

Awesome! Glad to hear it's helping. Yeah, my feed, is atrocious. I learned early in social media to follow any and everybody. So, needless to say, on my main account, I don't pay any attention to the feed. LOL I probably should curate it better, or unfollow a bunch of folks. I wish there was a good unfollower tool. So many tools we need, and one dashboard to rule them all! LOL

Be careful unfollowing folks without a killer app or that Master Dashboard to Rule Them ALL! I accidentally unfollowed one of my best supporters early on trying to clean up my list... and they got pretty upset. It was an honest mistake... and I should have looked better first... but needless to say, I learned the hard way! I got muted and that was all she wrote. I was so concerned and deflated about the whole ordeal. Now, I realize that is part of growing. If I had looked at UpVoters then.... who knows!

Yeah some people are jerks. One follower, here and there, not a big deal. There are 50k new ones coming TODAY! LOL, of course, the vote value thing makes it a little different on Steemit.

Yes, TODAY! hahaha I just put my post link on the thread you wanted it in. I read you were low on voting power... so don't feel like you have to hop to it anytime soon. I have a few comments I need to get to before I feel ok going to bed! hahaha But I wanted to thank you for this. It looks like everyone is already having fun and getting excited about learning! That is the sign of a good teacher. Have fun and Steem On My Friend! =)

No, not particularly low, just have a lot of people here to spread it over. I'm setting my power lower to make sure I can get it all done. I want to upvote each contribution each day, with at least a few cents.

I think I've done a similar thing in the past. Back in my early days here. Didn't have such great tools around then. But that UpVoter is a new one to me, so was glad to discover that here. We live and learn don't we?

Yeah, it definitely helps. I spent so much time on other blogging platforms before steemit, that I started teaching what I was learning almost from the beginning. I didn't see any tutorials at that point, but that was the stone ages.

Its hard to remember the Steemit that existed in the early days, its gone through so many progressions. But it seems to have a maturity that didn't exist earlier, in it's stone age (apt term).

I agree wholeheartedly with your great point about the upVoters SteemTool. It really does give great insight into the weight and quantity of voter's SP. :)

Right? It corrected some misconceptions I had.

I didn't know about the upvoter app either until reading the post for today, so thanks for that!-@bozz

We are all about to get educated proper like! Sorry about your bandwidth issues. Seems to be on the rise lately. Hopefully, we will outgrow those issues! Looking forward to checking out more our your stuff @bozz
Steem On

Thanks! It definitely helps you know how to keep up with the right people. Looking forward to learning more with you.

Hi, @castleberry. I agree with you on the tools. But what you say about following people concerns me. I've been following everybody that follows me because I don't really get how the feed works. I need to understand more about how to controll that, because currently I just search everything instead of scrolling on my feed.

It is quite natural when starting out to follow those who follow you. To some degree I still do this. But now I am more selective, and take a look at their blog and the material they produce. Usually a simple follow isn't enough, but regular commenters are the ones that get attention.

The reason for this is that eventually your feed will just get too full and you miss many good posts. But you'll work out your rhythm and what works for you.

You're right. I hope there's something about this subject in this bootcamp (says @markrmorrisjr while clearing throat). I think it's not easy to be selective in this platform. So much for the feedback @naquoya!

It'll make a good lesson, so maybe it will be there. Otherwise its one of those thing we learn from trial and error. That's why i wonder at those accounts who follow thousands of people. You couldn't possibly interact with that many people.

Having a core (or several core) tags that interest you is a good place to start, like discussed in lesson 1. Maybe start your selection process from that angle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85