You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exquisite Corpse: A Perfect Day For A Murder ... Chapter 6

in #writing6 years ago

Well done, Quill! The highest tribute I can give you is that your chapter reminds me of a favorite author and character of mine, Track Pressius, the epigenetic wonder in "Chimeras" by E.E. Giorgi.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21490854-chimeras
The first five chapters are good, but for me, the genre-hopping and POV shifts would make it hard to see this as one story. It's a smorgasboard. And as a literary experiment, that's fine. My degree is in English Lit with journalism minor, so I'm predisposed to "literary" even though I also love pulp fiction. Fun premise, @blockurator, and good work, everyone! (I know, I know, this isn't American Idol, and I need to stop sounding judge-y.)

Sort:  

@carolkean,

Hi Carol. Everything you said was correct. However, it was more an exercise in creative plot-devising than an effort to write a perfectly cohesive novel. Indeed, Block had encouraged us to feel free to utilize unexpected plot twists and even to deliberately leave the next guy a mess to have to clean up. I can tell you I started cursing @fromage when Vinnie started scampering around on the ceiling. How was I going to plausibly get out of that?

It's actually quite the learning exercise. As writers, we tend to only want to tell stories that are within our comfort zone. And so, we can end up being repetitive. This exercise forced us to adapt to, and make the best of, what we'd been given. I would encourage you to participate in Block's next challenge. If nothing else, it's great fun.

BTW, thanks for that incredible post ... and the wholly unnecessary wallet transfer. I understand the sentiment though, and am extremely appreciative.

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@carolkean/power-how-to-upvote-reward-writers-and-readers-when-voting-power-81-49-full-in-22-hours

Quill

Oh, I know, this was not intended to be a book - but Block mentioned Smashwords, and my English-major gears kicked in. I'd be cursing too if I were the one who had to followe up the monstrous morphings of ch. 5. :)
It was never my intent to criticize the exercise! Clearly, you all had fun with it, and we all have fun reading it. (Missing a bus, $30 penalty, wow, now that is high tribute to the writing!)

P.S. "pekid"? and all dialogue italicized? Very well--as you wish, Quill! ;)
(Please know better than to take me seriously when I chide you or try to tan your quilly hide!)

OMG, it's for real:
https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/pekid
Adjective[edit]. pekid (comparative more pekid, superlative most pekid). Eye dialect spelling of peaked. (sickly-looking, peaky).

WTF is Eye dialect spelling.... acceptable usage these days?
I'm retiring my English degree! No, no, I'm a gonna BURN that thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67368.20
ETH 2618.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68