How I wrote a book - Part 1: Finding an idea

in #writing7 years ago

A lot of people have ideas. They pop up when you walk down the street and enjoy the warmth of the sun, they come to you when you have lively chats with friends or when you least expect it. In my case the first time the idea of writing a book touched me when I was sailing with my dad in Croatia some years ago. Have you ever been to Croatia? It is a marvelous country and there is no better way of enjoying its beauty than spending your time on a sailing boat, shipping from bay to bay and from cove to cove. All those tiny little islands, the relaxing sound of the ocean and the absence of stress brought me the idea of writing a book.

IMGP0916-neu.jpg

It was clear from the beginning that it I will write fantasy. I have been a fantasy fan all my life. I still remember when my mum read out to me tales of the ancient Greeks when I was too little to read myself. When I was able to read I started with the fantasy classics and read almost every Wolfgang Hohlbein book that existed. I cannot tell you how many books I’ve read before I started writing myself but I know it was quite a lot.

I still remember the moment my muse kissed me. I was relaxing on the front of the boat, enjoying the sun warming my skin, listening to the waves breaking on the boat and watching the sea gulls on the close island. And suddenly there it was: I wanted to write a book about magic, playing in my own fantasy world and I saw the characters in front of me. The king’s son brought away as baby not knowing who he was saving the world from the necromancers (I admit not the most outstanding new idea in the fantasy book market going to change the world of fantasy writing but anyway it was a starting point).
Then I started writing my first storyline down with a pencil on a piece of paper being asked by dad what I was doing. I answered: “Starting to write a book”. Well, he looked at me quite skeptical not knowing that I was serious.
Back home I tried to decipher my handwriting and transferred it to the computer. There it was: the beginning of my first book. Redundant to say that the first storyline was rejected and changed totally during time. But I think that is a normal process and should not stop you from writing down the first idea you have. Here I quote Neil Gaiman, British fantasy and science fiction writer: “This is how you do it: you sit down at the keyboard and you put one word after another until its done. It’s that easy and that hard.”

So this is what I recommend to you: Whatever idea you have, don’t let it slip away. If you stick to it your idea will grow and evolve and one day something great will come out of it.
Stay tuned for the next part of my story.

Kisses,
C.J. Hunt

IMG_1387-neu.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for this @carolinejhunt... please make more of these posts ... I need them :)
I've just posted 'Chapter One' of my very first book right here on Steemit ...It's titled 'Raised By Machines'... here's the link if your interested in reading it ...https://steemit.com/story/@wannerbet/3gf9kd-raised-by-machines ...
I'm currently writing 'chapter two' and I've honestly no idea where I'm going with it ... posts like your help a lot though ... just to get me to sit down and start writing

Great! Yes, I will share a follow up soon about how I created my characters when I am back from my vacation :) Great that it helps you. It is so much work to write a book but it feels great when the work is done.
I will for sure follow you and the developement of your story!

@carolinejhunt
Nice Post!
Thanks for sharing this.

Will share new stuff soon. :)

Congratulations @carolinejhunt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57