You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writing workshop volume 2: Exploring voice in writing

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is a very well written post, as behooves a writing workshop post I suppose! It is somewhat tired advice to say practice, practice, practice, but the reason it is cliché is because it is true. There is no substitute for practice and experience. Putting the work in, in the form of spilling thousands and thousands of words onto paper (or screen), is the only way to develop your own voice. Reading widely helps of course. I think your suggestion though, to try writing a story intentionally in a sparse style and then again in a verbose manner, is a terrific exercise for the beginning writer.

I am following you now, very happy to have run across you and looking forward to more awesome posts from you in the future! (although it feels like I have already run across one of your posts and I thought I was already following you - this may have been an instance where Steemit was misbehaving and did not register my previous "follow"). Cheers - Carl

Sort:  

Thank you for the wise words! And great to meet you, @carignash. I look forward learning more about your creative endeavors!

You are a wise woman @jayna

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61