You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Arguing Without Being A**holes" >>> Civil Discourse ... An Exemplar

in #writing6 years ago

This was truly amazing. I wish more people would take the time to read posts like this.
You both weigh in on so many vital subjects.
Subjects that encompass this current ages idea scope. In a time of such black and white thought divergence. Where people dig in and shout so as not to listen.
This exchange was pure oxygen. Thank you both!

Sort:  

@buttcoins,

Thank you ... and thank you for thanking @dollarsandsense as well. A thoughtful gesture.

Whenever I run similar type articles, I am always amazed ... almost everyone agrees with me. Where are all the lunatics? In reality, there is only a small number of very loud voices ... but they are intimidating everyone else into silence. Because there's so much noise and because it's so constant, one can start to believe that he/she is alone ... and that the rest of the world has gone mad.

The odd time that someone does decide to rip me a new one, I simply engage them in a conversation using logic, reason and rationale. I give, and ask for, evidence-of-assertions. Inevitably, ideological arguments cannot withstand such scrutiny, and so ... the ideologues go away.

Believe it or not, though, such common sense approach to thinking is now considered "radical." Me. A radical. Who knew? People even compliment me on my courage. Courage? To insist that 2+2=4 hardly strikes me as being valiant. A sign of the times.

Quill

i honestly just seek the joy. i actively move away from negative things and people in my life. I am always looking for the joke. the twist. my fact line is blurry so i just dont engage if it gets too know it all'y. im interested in how things feel and smell... i like the taste of a social cocktail.
But my fun'n about is never meant to be malicious, also i love great conversations. so this here exchange hit the spot!

@buttcoins,

I am always looking for the joke. the twist.

Then I've got a job for you.

I've got a good buddy, cryptogee (I left out the @ sign so as not to trigger Gina). I need you to go to his blog, leave a couple of intelligent-sounding comments on a couple of his posts and, at the end of your comment, attach of picture or video of the Queen, the Royal Family or anything smacking of the British Monarchy.

He's all pissed off with the institution. I enjoy provoking him by getting people to leave "God Save The Queen" at the end of comments on his post. (He has a great sense of humor.) Go take a look at this post to see how it all got going (comments section).

https://steemit.com/steemit/@dhavey/it-s-all-about-our-noble-steemians-with-cryptogee-episode-16-5828724824b31#@quillfire/re-cryptogee-re-quillfire-re-dhavey-it-s-all-about-our-noble-steemians-with-cryptogee-episode-16-5828724824b31-20180913t151903201z

You have to play it straight though. No smiley faces. You're just trying to make his day because he's such a loyal citizen of the Commonwealth.

Anybody else who reads this, you're in too. The more the merrier. :-)

And ... nobody mention me.

@por500bolos & @dollarsandsense, this sounds like something that would be down your guys' alley as well. :-)

Quill

haha...ok...im on cell now...but in a few hours i can get up to this mischief

@buttcoins,

That's my man.

We need hats: Make Cryptogee Patriotic Again

Quill

well...not sure if i did it right...but i did his 2 most recent posts got a buttcoins patriotism splooge

@buttcoins,

Beautifully done. I nominate you to the Order of the Garter. :-)

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61042.80
ETH 2605.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65