How to Find Inspiration for Things to Write about

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Ideas are everywhere!

Just Look around…

In the books you read.

The films you watch.

The people you meet.

What you think of while in the shower.

And while browsing networks like Steemit.

But rather than dwelling on that mental image, let’s say you want to research and write a non-fiction book.

Now, first off…

Consume Other Books Like They’re a Drug

A good book is like heroin (remember that while writing).

It’s impossible to put down.

And if you’re a writer, then consider it your obligation to find a fix… and fast.

Apps like Pocket make it easier for me to save posts from my favourite websites and read these posts on my iPhone, at a time that suits me.

I gravitate between reading fiction and non-fiction books and I tend to have at least one of each on my digital and physical bedside tables.

I normally read paperbacks on the bus or train and Kindle ebooks late at night.

This way, if I am struggling with one book, I can switch to the other without feeling like reading is a chore. And if I am struggling with both books, I can read a fun blog post on my phone.

(Or I could just play snake).

If I reach page fifty of a book and I am still bored, I put the book down altogether. There are just too many good books to justify slogging through an unenjoyable read.

I make the occasional exception for books related to work or books I am expected to read.

Now…

Annotate What You Read Like a Boss

Annotating your books is a good way of getting to grips with information and marking it for future use.

I use my Kindle to underline key phrases and to record observations about important passages.

This way, when I’m finished the book I can quickly find said paragraphs or ideas on my computer.

I recently read Tools of the Titans by Tim Ferris.

I highlighted key passages in the book because I wanted to journal about some of the topics he addresses.

Ideas.jpg

I also wanted to read a little more about these topics… before having the guts to write about them on sites like Steemit.

So look around.

Because ideas are everywhere.

Sort:  

you have captured almost everything,
but allow me to add this, when the going gets tough and the accoaldes are not coming, pls dont stop.
keep on charging and never lose hope. You will get there and dont forget to get a mentor !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66161.28
ETH 3556.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14