Sometimes Magical

in #writing5 years ago

 I asked for something magical before going to bed. I had enough of Unexplained Fleeting Phenomenon for a while, what with my neck hurting and non-existing hypothesis for the stuff I witness. So I asked for something magical instead. 


 I sit outside in the dark, often.   


 It’s quiet (but not all the time), spacious, but not when the clouds are covering the sky. I don’t last long these days. It gets colder quicker. A couple of puffs and I’m back inside listening to psyambient or glorious pop. 


 It’s not all that quiet in the country. Sometimes roosters will start crowing in the middle of the night for no reason, maybe it’s full moon, most of the time it is just random. The roosters will get all confused about something, discuss it for a bit, then the dogs will get irritated. They’re generally louder and their network is wider. Birds tend to not sleep through it. The nocturnals are first, then the doves, ultimately the humans, “Shut the fuck up!” to nothing in particular. If that fails, be sure you will hear the cows and horses next. 


 But when it is quiet it is magical. 


 Most of the time it is unexplained. Fleeting wisps of flying shadows, sometimes light. Many meteors, but sometimes they change direction. Or pulse in and out of star form. I have an idea it’s sometimes organic, sometimes man-made or alien. 


 I was bored, frustrated consciousness didn’t seem to be interested in rewarding my curiosity. So, I asked for something magical. I didn’t wait or flinch. It arrived in ten seconds. 


 A shadow silhouette gatheris it’s wings as it steadies itself on the corrigated sheeting, slide-scratching with claws. It twirls it’s round head. I don’t move mine with eyes wide, it landed in my vision valiantly.   


 I thought I had smiled too much. My smile must have grown for five minutes until it took off.   


 It was back, but not long enough for a landing, as I was expecting, hoping it would grace me with another moment. I was perched a little too perfectly, wide-eyed and expectant. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15