Morning pages

in #writing7 years ago

I have been introduced me to something called 'The morning pages' and fuck it feels like hell haha. It's a morning exercise where you write 3 pages of free flow. I started yesterday and I already feel like I'm purging. It has become a little intense for me to allow certain emotions out and understand myself for the better. I have no idea what to expect with this exercise, 2nd day in and I feel fucked, but as soon as I wrote my next 3 pages I felt alive. I enjoy writing, I believe it's fun, I am always interested in what lies beneath my surface. This exercise just makes you realise a whole heap of things, like Kylie Jenner in 2k16. Just kidding, but it really provides you with those 'ah-huh' moments floating in your subconscious ... A little bit of art therapy for you.

4 benefits of writing:

  • Eliminates stress
  • Helps you in understanding yourself
  • Helps you to find clarity
  • Helps to release old energy and trauma

With a background in art therapy I know how beneficial writing is. While studying art therapy we would journal and journal on top of journal! We had to write stories, poems, sentences etc. It would help us understand situations we have been in and events we have experienced. It also helped us make decisions for the present or future. I found it very easy to write and I would without a doubt write a poem no matter what type of writing it was. It was harmonic connecting my mind to pen and paper. It helped me grow a lot as a person. My weeks would feel like a roller coaster constantly releasing trauma, constantly finding things out about myself that I didn't know existed. It was extremely stressful but I'd do it all over again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30