#tellyourstory entry; a new introduction, and philosophy of Steemwalker A.k.A. Grasshopper A.K.A. @britcoins :)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

What to do?

This is my entry for the contest here https://steemit.com/contest/@varunsangwan/gteik-tell-your-story-contest-prizes-for-everyone

keep scrolling, there is a lot more below, Joe


grasshopper-org.jpg

For this contest you have to make a separate post and tell your story including-
Your life before steemit?

Missing a few other boats I guess?

Before Steemit, I'd been working hard to kick a serious addiction - Facebook. (Actually, alcohol a lot also, now not so much - well, that is another story I can share here soon). It had been eating away at all my friendships, and even with my relationship with the online world. It seemed somewhat hopeless, and I'd abandoned all the political debates long ago. However, there was a void .... I had all these stories, and nowhere to place them, and FB had become such a souless echo chamber by around Nov 2015 .... :)
Aonang, Thailand, before Steemit (2011)... Now a hotel - please don't get me started

AoNang-house-1-2009.jpg

How you introduced to steemit?
@murda-ra would be responsible for that one. At first, I thought it sounds too good to be true - or at least - like a lot of hard work. It's turned out to be quite complex, a little nerdy. However with a bit of time and just enjoying something that is in it's infancy - I was soon hooked.
Who introduced you here (mention him - if possible)?
Ah I think I already did ... @murda-ra via @mrstaf i think could be accurate
What's your channel topic?

Photography would be one of the primary channels. Several channels take my deep interest, and I don't have time for them all. I want to start to focus more on refining my photo essays, and these consist of digging up 10+ years of archives. Since I've lived abroad and been in Asia a large part of my adult life, there are a lot of these I want to get out there. You'll find quite a few already in my posts, some have many photos included.
Your hobbies and interests?
Photography, web development and design, sustainable/renewable/eco technology, hiking in the wilderness or the urban jungle, global citizenship, scale model 1:24 car making, and real cars (gearhead/petrolhead),

Reducing so many hobbies so one might ever finish ..... Just One !!!!!

IMG_20161224_134828.jpg

luckily, this is not one of my hobbies
Your best and worst experiences here?

Worst

spam bots are getting annoying as replicants. One follower I thought I was having a conversation with darn near got through a turing test - Scary.

Best experience is to finally take blogging a little more seriously on a daily basis, I needed it.

Best is to be a little patient, get into some community, pay attention to a tidy posts and tags - keep going - and see the progress. It's like making a little better version of yourself each day, which is important. In this entreprenual young community, I can see many will learn a lot if they are prepared to stop thinking about the 'get rich quick'.
life after steemit?
I hope Steemit is here for a long time to come, so, how to answer that? Whether it pays out something amazing, or just becomes part of the journey to other things? Who can answer that now. Done correctly, $1 SBD now could be worth quite a lot in 2-3 years time. It's worth the gamble, 'm just keeping it on so I learn to blog. I'm backing everything down so I have it ready to refresh on the next chance - To that I mean, I don't depend only on Steemit making everything ... Neither should anyone, as they say "Don't put all your eggs in 1 basket"

SG-heritage.jpg

Singapore, Heritage Road (I can't recall the real name, I would love to live in one of these shophouse on the right)

Thanks to:

https://steemit.com/contest/@varunsangwan/gteik-tell-your-story-contest-prizes-for-everyone

my-steem-banner.png

Sort:  

Thank you for participating

Hello Britcoins I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community !! Nice post, Wish you much luck! Cheers! i will follow your account, please follow me !

Welcome to steemit hope you enjoy it here!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome my friend nice to me you i am @djnoel :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33