Steps I Can and Will Take to Abolish Poverty.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

"The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing." -Albert Einstein

116.jpg

We as Americans can do so much more than the rest of the world in reaching the impoverished, and even making a difference for our own people. There are conditions of extreme poverty in 3rd world nations such as Africa, and the now fleeting Venezuela, but we also have dire conditions at home. The Flint, Michigan water crisis along with the thousands of homeless swelling the streets in my own city of Los Angeles. People look on and do nothing in fear of their own lives and sanctity. The smallest difference each person makes in this world can make larger and larger waves


Small Steps:

When I was a child my mom got me involved with the charity firm 'UNICEF'. It was quite clever ploy; at Halloween I would carry a cardboard change holder themed orange and black, and I would ask for change instead of candy. I collected a lot of change for them as it was almost a challenge, and my mom rewarded me with all the store bought candy! This was a beautiful tradition for my household every holiday, UNICEF provides mostly clothing and food to the homeless children of the world.

UNICEF2.jpg

Paying it Forward:

To be perfectly blunt I've been through rehabilitation for drugs before, and in this halfway house I learned a few life lessons to keep forever. One of them was 'paying it forward as I can'; the rabbi would visit me occasionally (before my tattoos), and he would tell me I am a good Jewish man, and to stay good I should give as much as I can. In Hebrew we call this type of person a mensch, when you give anonymously without want of return, you've become one with yourself. The small step I take everyday in paying it forward is by giving the first two homeless people you see some change or any type of food. It isn't teaching them to fish, but compassion is a huge step in showing them they are still human.

pay-it-forward.jpg

I have a serious problem with our nation's lack of care for the poor, but I understand there are also global measures the U.S. and all formidable countries must under take in order to eliminate extreme famine and disease due to poverty. I have lived in Israel and seen the side of Jordan Al Jazeera doesn't mention; there are children who are untouchable to their own people and live by a riverbed on the crossroads of Jewish militia bases. There are Arab children my uncle told me not to trust when we passed them in his new car, but I refused and offered the child a pasty anyway. There is a wrongful fear of the poor, as some people are not born into anything at all.


'Big Kahunas:

I discovered something in Michigan 6 years ago... With a legal cannabis dispensary becoming too expensive to upkeep in Detroit, I actually started growing papayas and bananas with my Big Kahuna light fixture setup. The chemical 'stop' and feed for the canni plants were actually suited to these types of fruit as well, and we grew them indoor in a square basement with no ventilation. The room was filled with mylar so no excess light got in during their sleep cycle, we simply ran them like we would the marijuana plants and became the Sun for 3 months. Indoor growing and filtration set ups can feed a singular household for eternity, with 24 square footage a whole block could be fed bare minimum, and with the entire 80-90 square foot basement set up I had, I should have rung up the local elementary to see if I could become the fruit wholesaler.

hqdefault.jpg

Solar Energy:

My friend Phil visited the Congo a few years ago to spend time with tribes out there and learn about the culture. A lot of the sicknesses out there from bugs and even overexposure to sunlight are brought upon young children...a young immune system can only survive the environment with the right nutrients. A lot of the charitable organizations that do get food to these impoverished nations usually bring mass produced food. There needs to be an implementation of solar farms, just miles of land to collect sunlight to grow. If the U.S. government would undertake a plan to consolidate these land plots for charitable use in 3rd world nations only, not only would that open relations to these places, it would also make the U.S. a beloved superpower instead of the super-villain (which we are pretty much seen as now).

solar-suck-up-the-sun.jpg

Housing and Dispersion:

If these farms were made, this would leave a lot more manpower on the ground to rebuild and restructure. This includes government and economy as we did in Iraq; I have been meaning to go with my friend J.D. to Tijuana as he works for a bike share which provides bicycles for the locals, and he also builds homes with freelance organizations who simply want to rebuild their homeland. Where there is a will there is a way, and more hands means more production. The production waste of metals and wood each year is astounding and disgusting, waste can be made into solid modules and those can become bricks to build with.

lay-down-yard-clean-up-222.jpg


It starts with ingenuity, and wanting to make this world better.


Source Image Credits: 1 2 3 4 5 6


#yourhelper @yourhelper

Sort:  

An amazing article.... Well thought out. Thank you for your contribution. Yes, such giving uplifts the spirit of the receiver and God sees it. Welldone. I do hope you are off drugs completely by now. Keep up the good work.

Thank you much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64196.23
ETH 2757.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71