A Suspense Evening : A Short Story.

in #writing6 years ago

IMG_20181004_093809_542.jpg
Photo by Vlad Bagacian on Unsplash

Sitting down gently that day, I knew something was amiss, the fact that mom isn't out by this time is just a deflection, the big thing was coming and I knew it not.

My dad has always been a smoker since I've known him, I wonder how his lungs will look like if it's opened, my siblings and I use to joke behind closed doors at him, saying if he's ever used for scientific experiment by medical student, opening him up will bring a kind of disgust to them. Dad smoke more than hell.

But the elders sitting by the fire brought some diversion along with it. They were sitting down drinking, wining and dining and that how it gets tricky, the news of joy calls for this by tradition and the news of an Elderly's death also passes through the same. Is my dad dead or about to be made chief, according to custom, if he's dead am to stay out of the house for three good days, if he's made a Chieftain am to stay out for seven days, in both, no one is to tell me what's happening.

The night fire keeps burning, still, no one dares tells me what's happening.

My entry into @mydivathings #365daysofwriting

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43