You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Losing Shirley

in #writing6 years ago

This is awesome. I also like the links at the bottom of the post.

I grew up listing my father and grandfather playing country music. Old songs. Hank Snow, Hank Williams, Tennessee Ernie Ford, etc. This brought back some of those memories, and of course memories of holding hands with some pretty young girls. Thanks a lot.

Sort:  

You are welcome, @blockurator, and thank you for the compliment.

I was raised on that kind of music also and did not know there was any other kind, other than the songs in church, until I was up in grade school. I was misguided later into The Beatles and rock through toe late 80's, but got back on track with C&W and feel much at home with it and my dog in my truck. Life is good!

Ah yes, those tiny excursions.

I loved the rock music of the 80s. Going back now and seeing the videos, I don't know why. lol

Depending on your age, there was a LOT going on then and music was woven into everything we did. Vietnam had its soundtrack and even a group of friends sitting around talking had a soundtrack. Music brings back the associated memories and I like that.

I still blame part of my bad hearing to Pink Floyd and Lynyrd Skynyrd.

Oh yes. I still love to hear Lynyrd Skynyrd. And Pink Floyd sometimes, but I like to think I've outgrown the depressive angst.

Oh, me, too. I still like the music for the nostalgia and because it was far, far...far better than the effluvia produced now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68913.35
ETH 2517.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53