Sort:  

Well, in the next part I'll be going into more detail about reason. But my main thesis is that both emotions and reason are tools that have evolved to achieve the same end: gain value. Both of these tools are finite and flawed, and sometimes they do conflict. But ultimately reason is not possible without emotion, because it is emotion that attaches value to the things we reason about.

Very true and great point. Emotions does move us and add value. Excellent insight @jpgaltmiller!

Now thinking more about it...when you do control your emotions and mind, I think you can have reason or motivation without emotion. Just intellectually know why you believe in something...?

Look, I was raised by a mother who was uber-emotional, and I think my reaction to that was to clamp down on emotion, control it as you say. So I definitely hear where you're coming from.

At the end of the day, though, you can't control your emotions. All you can do is control your behavior that results from your emotions. You can also examine your emotions, see what triggers what, and decide whether or not that emotional response is beneficial for you or not. And with that examination, you can, over time, affect your future emotional responses, perhaps. But that is not the same thing as controlling one's emotions in the moment. Your emotions are lightning-quick calculations of value judgment in reaction to the stimuli you perceive.

Stick with me for the next two posts on the subject - things might become a bit clearer.

Ya I think that is more of what I was thinking... controlling your behaviours to emotions. After meditating for the last couple years I definitely know how to control triggered emotions more and how I react to them. I was not in control of them at all like many people are, as I am now.

Will look forward to your next posts anout it though. Appreciate your response here.

That is something I haven't tried - meditation. But the more I listen to Sam Harris' podcast, the more I think it can be beneficial.

It is massively beneficial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39