Struggle For More Space

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I remember walking on the boardwalk in Coney Island Brooklyn couple years ago and feeling an exhilarating sense of liberation. A wide open perspective filled up my entire being quite unlike the sometimes suffocating essence of the subway or my small room. Here the beach stretched to its most natural state. The pier floated way out there to where you could breathe like how it's meant to be. I got a sense that the people were far more relaxed here though I could be wrong.

This open space is what we are all searching for in the ultimate scheme of things. We are much happier as a species under a full sky. For claustrophobic people like me extra space is the be all and end all. My mood brightens like beautiful sunsets. I laugh fuller. I feel like am back in the Caribbean. Ironically my island is a million times smaller than Brooklyn but I had a lot more living space in my house.

With the world's populating bursting at the seams the struggle for more habitable land in the near future becomes all too real. Like with water we will kill each over space and boundaries, outer space included. The signs are already here. Closing borders and restricting the movement of peoples dominates the news now. The specter of a terrifying time stares us smack in the face. Hope your eyes are wide open friend.

Sort:  

Always an enjoyable read. I find myself challenged as to what to say in a comment, as there is no singular part of the writing to highlight. It is just a pleasure to read the whole.

Thanks for always reading :)

Good post billy I am too in search of more space and I want to move and see more beautiful warmer sunsets.

Thanks. Yea is really good to travel. :)

Space is abundant, Towns are full , and production is bursting at the seams , so much inefficiency and "recycling" for the past years haven't brought much improvement, business are making so much redundant "waste" , people eat more than they need. And about the closing off of borders , sometimes it's good , mostly it's for the wrong reasons. But migration like the one in Europe is impossible to deal with. We have space , we lack the humanity ,

too many people making too many problems and not much logic around
"Land of confusion ,:D Genesis"

Positive comment. I like that.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 28 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I found you :) nice to meet up . I enjoyed reading your post and I'll look out for more ❤️

thanks so much followed you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58720.84
ETH 3088.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41