Less News More Reading

in #writing8 years ago


Last year ended with fake news. The trolls stole the show in the decaying civilization. It all went wrong when the masses became thoughtless. My belief in the impartiality of media had been steadily declining and it reached a tipping point at the tail end of 2016. I pretty much tuned out the noise of the liars and the sickness.

I trimmed my newsreaders offerings to most relevant for my development. I went in hard cutting to the bone of the disease that is politics on Feedly and Google’s Newstand. Unfortunately some still filters through. Even on Steemit that I Iove so much I stay clear of political discourse. It’s not hard to avoid paranoia on Steemit. You see the headlines and you can detour. Wish I could filter Twitter in a similar way that my art and tech shines through and the junk stays in the junk pile. The filth and intolerance maligns people. They stop thinking. Can’t acknowledge the good wherever it rises. I only harm myself reading myopic arguments that makes me cringe.

Human is not perfect but common sense is not hard. When pseudo intellectualism replaces plain common sense well we get genocide. Our memory too short too blinded by the way we want things to be. The world belongs to everyone and no one. Humans love suffering for it’s own sake. We build prisons instead of learning centers. Why is that? We much rather troll than read. Why is that? What makes us so toxic?

I am buying more kindle books mostly sci-fi. Lots of dystopia in the writings. Warnings of the impending war on reason. And it’s almost here. You have people denying basic truths and logic. You have people denying that 1+1 equals 2. The true zombie apocalypse is directly in front of us. It piggybacked on technology when we thought it was progress we were watching.

Sort:  

My belief in the impartiality of media had been steadily declining and it reached a tipping point at the tail end of 2016. I pretty much tuned out the noise of the liars and the sickness.

True that 😖

Thanks 😊

The time for extraordinary minds to paint a brighter vision for the masses has come.

No doubt it's time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40