You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Handling Flashback Scenes and Respecting Your Audience

in #writing6 years ago

46 years ago I took a year's worth of Russian Lit. It was a net good experience, but the most valuable part was how to score keep a novel. One quarter of the experience was Dr. Zhivago by Pasternak. The prof made us keep a 'score card' from the start. Legal pad written horizontally with character notes so we could keep track when names changed.

I still use a modified version of that technique when I read a book worth remembering. As recently as yesterday. I don't watch much film or TV but I just hate having to go looking for something in a book. Hence the notes. I have at least a timeline of the book to know about where to look.

God. My first wife watched All My Children. The first VCR I bought was almost dedicated to recording AMC so she could watch after work. Deep sigh.

Thanks for an extraordinary commentary.

Sort:  

"Score keep" makes me think of a music score, so I assume you meant "keep score" ;-) And yes, I'm just messing with you.

That sounds useful, if one wants to analyze it, otherwise, these days, the Wikipedia synopsis works. I tend to rely on my memory.

Thank you for the comment, Tom. You write like you travel, and that's meant in a good way :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41