You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Black Lake

in #writing7 years ago

If I'd noticed the horror tag, I'd not have read it. The writing is very powerful. But I dislike the lack of resolution in the ending. Sorry. It's my nature to be honest. It may just be because it's a genre thingie and since I avoid horror, I don't "get" it.

Sort:  

Nothing to apologize for. I actually agree with you. I don't really read horror and I've never written it. I wanted to stay out of my comfort zone a little bit longer and try a few more new things, as a "just to see if I can" sort of experiment. I've noticed a lot of horror endings tend to leave you with negative feelings, a feeling of bitterness or loss, or frustration over a lack of real resolution. It was actually hard for me not to elaborate on the ending. I wrote out what he actually said to her several times before ultimately deleting it. This story was also based off of a dream a friend of mine told me about having, and I ultimately concluded that being cut off just before you get the clear answer felt very dream-like. Another "deleted" alternative ending was going to be her simply failing to hear what he said before drowning. Maybe that would've been more fitting to a true horror style. Maybe a horror fan could set me straight on this.

I'm glad you accidentally read it and commented though. You helped clarify something I was already feeling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43