My Modern day Tales by Moonlight

in #writing6 years ago

mama.jpgShe packed her things carefully in her " Ghana must go" bag, she was physically set to go but emotionally not fit. She kept wiping the hot tears that rolled down her cheeks at intervals. She would miss her lovely cat that just gave birth to adorable white kittens, but that was not the issue... her new environment ...how would she cope! The joy of changing her environment was not transparent in her. Her mother called in a faint voice that could barely be heard.. " Uwana" her heart throbbed painfully as the thought of who would look after her sick mother crossed her heart "eka mmi" she replied as she wiped those hot tears off her cheeks. She ran into the room and held her mum, she prayed that those tears won't betray her in front of her weak mother "mama2.jpg
mama please be strong for me, I promise to be a good girl, I know you will be fine"she said . She faked a smile and squeezed the mother on her bony shoulder...she hurriedly stepped outside, she had held the tears for too long , she went to the backyard and wept bitterly, she looked up and said"father I don't want to loose her just as I lost my father "
Aunty Eno stepped into the mud house and caught sight of the unzipped bag..."Uwana" she called, "aren't you ready yet?" There was no response, she walked to the backyard and met her crying,she was shocked, she held her close and assured that all was well..Aunty Eno had gotten a nurse and cook to look after Uwana's mother before their departure to Lagos.
She bade her friends and mother goodbye. In the car aunty Eno discussed with her... "So when is your birthday" she asked, " 14th of April and I will be eighteen years old... "Driver pack let's eat something" aunty Eno ordered, that car was given to her on her 40th birthday by her husband, she stepped into the restaurant as her phone rang" hello nurse...yes speak I can hear you...OK..its OK...I see...take necessary steps...I will speak with you later" she ended the call and composed herself... " tell them what you want to eat" she said...she didn't want to break the sad news...this was dear to Uwana, she understood that..."are you OK..." Uwana asked," yes dear but promise me you won't worry or cry over it...."
"Noooooooooo, God why me, not my mother, oh God" she screamed and fell to the floor the food poured and was a mess on the floor, the plate broke, aunty Eno begged her to calm down, the other customers rushed over, in fact everyone came to know what had caused the drama.... "
mama3.jpg Uwana calm down and listen to me" aunty Eno pleaded.
The nurse called me to tell me that your mum... Uwana interrupted..." That she is dead, I know " she wept the more. "No dear its one of those kittens, your mum asked her to call me so that I could tell you it died few minutes ago, because she knows how much you love them!😳😳...

Sort:  

Congratulations @betheleyo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Creative mind. This is cool, keep it up

What an interesting suspense story!

It's really inspiring
Keep it up

This is creative

This is beautiful and creative.. Wow.. Don't stop dishing out more of this..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66687.09
ETH 3585.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.04