You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lets multiply the value of our articles by helping each other to write better

in #writing8 years ago

I love the initiative. I like the idea of developing a format which enhances the potential for discussion and also offers a means to reward valuable critique and discussion. I think, as gavvet points out, that a transparent, automated system would be necessary for reward distribution to minimize the risk of disagreements and administration.

It's worth remembering that appreciation is highly subjective, for instance, your subject matter may hold absolutely no interest to some people. That means, regardless of the 'quality,' a certain proportion of the population are unlikely to be interested in the material. However, there is great value in having the ability to articulate an idea in a way that maximizes it's impact and the development of language skills that enhance communication can only be a good thing for society at large. It's also worth noting that value is subjective. So if even one person is moved or inspired by something you write, to some, that is of enormous value.

Sort:  

Thanks for your thoughts!
I have no possibility of automating anything, and I can't foresee anyone doing it on my behalf, so for the time being manual distribution is the only method I can suggest. Personally I don't see it as a showstopper, and I am willing to trust people. Earned reputation is worth something too. If someone cheats me, I think the collective benefit will outweigh my pain.

Do you have any suggestions on how to organize this effort in a better way?

So there are two main objectives......helping to improve presentation and helping to improve the application of language (words, spelling & grammar.) I still think the reward and incentive aspect could be problematic without functional support from Steemit.

I was thinking that you could have a new topic called 'Pre-publish' where an article could be published for critique before being published to the appropriate topic for the subject matter with wider visibility. The problem is any created post is visible immediately to the whole Steemit community. There is also the issue of privacy before the article is ready. There is no way yet to form a private group as you say.

You could have two new topics, 'Presentation Critique' and 'Language Critique' so that people can post under the appropriate topic for their subject matter, but also post a copy to the appropriate critique topic depending on what kind of feedback they are looking for. General feedback on the subject matter of their post will remain against the original.

Within 'Presentation Critique,' it may be possible to offer a service to improve important posts on behalf of someone who is willing to provide a reward......though i'm not exactly sure how that would be achieved.

After a while, hopefully a culture would develop around the process and a general improvement could be forthcoming. It really is a very exciting idea. Well done sir.

Just thought......you could have tip or how to sheets posted to the appropriate critique topic.

Could you explain, the share process?

Or maybe you could add that into the article, being new here, I don't understand how I would be able to share my earnings with multiple voters.

Thanks

On payout I will take note of the amount and the users who have contributed. I take half of the payout and divide it with the amount of contributors. I just send that amount manually to each contributor.

It's manual yes, but I think we could test how collaboration works in a simple way like that. What do you think?

Yes, it's a good idea and like you say it kind of tests the community, it could prove to be very time consuming if you have hundreds and hundreds of people feeding back, maybe the Steem mods will come up with a way of disseminating multiple payments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63718.61
ETH 3390.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62