You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #18: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #writing7 years ago

SOPHIA'S FLUTE

I would always call out to her in the mornings. She was always there, smiling. I always wondered if she never got tired. I held her hands to go to school as usual because no one wanted to hold the" imbecile". And this "imbecile " was my best friend. We lived in a world which did not know much and we were used to the cursing and the violence. She showed me the thing. She had been keeping it for a long long time. It very was beautiful . I asked her to use it immediately, I was so excited and inquisitive, she declined, I had to wait till evening.

We went to school and I was impatient all day. Time was slowly ticking by. The school bell rang signifying the end of school activities. This was it! Sophia had a hard time coming down the stairs, they began to make fun of her again. I ran there and began to do the usual fighting and shouting, you should know better than to mess with my "imbecile " friend. And it dropped. They took it from the ground and began to throw it at one another. We chased and chased them. Then Sophia fell deep, deep into the hole. The one they wanted to use for the school well. I could hear her screaming for help. I ran as fast as my legs could carry me. When I got there with help, my friend was gone. My "imbecile " friend was not an imbecile. She had Down syndrome and they never understood. And the "thing" was her new flute. My Sophia would never play her new flute again. I cried all the way home. I realized then that the world was cruel and I lived in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60410.66
ETH 2598.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62