Food for thought - Introduction

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Introduction to the new series: Monthly favorite book.


IMG-20181222-WA0003-01-01.jpg

Reading Time : 3 min


I spent the entire day of 25th September developing statistical data of my Steemit blog for analyzing my content, consistency, growth. I started here on 28th April'17; precisely 30 months ago. So this last week of September'19, I wanted to analyze and sort out my thoughts on why I started doing this, what have I learned and how do I want to proceed.

While the details of statistics might be boring and irrelevant to you all, I simply wanted to share my thoughts. With the data, I was able to answer certain questions for myself. For example- How many posts I've written in a month, categories of topics on my posts, quality and consistency rate at which I am currently producing content.

And the idea of doing all this work for myself and to gain some clarity has been inspired by the last book that I've read and want to share about in this series: Deep Work by Cal Newport.

At its core, my blog revolves around creative endeavors such as art, design, photography, craft and travel. I wanted to introduce a new category here, that being sharing my thoughts on books that I'm reading. This will be a monthly thing thus a small thing to add on here.

When I started my blog, I did think that I would significantly improve my writing skills. While I have some posts that fall under the "writing category", mostly it has been about art and pictures. Also, my college work has mostly kept me busy to write a post of good length till July'19. But now is a chance for some experimentation and development.


Why I want to share my lessons?


  1. The prime reason is for me to intake these lessons thoroughly by writing and then sharing. My method of learning has been writing since childhood. Also, it will enable me to read at least one book a month.

  2. The second reason being opening up the dialog for discussion on these great topics. Discussing various viewpoints may help in forming one's own thoughts and rational thinking.

  3. Steemit has been an excellent platform for sharing while learning, therefore I'm hoping it would improve my consistency by committing to this and writing skills as well.

So what do you say? :P


Food for thought:


IMG_20190925_164757.jpg

Book for September - Deep Work by Cal Newport.

This book gave me things to think about seriously and change my actions. Join me in the next post to discuss the book.



See you in the next post.
Keep Learning :)

Sort:  

Hello @ayushijain, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

You have a new follower :)
Why did you put "Reading Time : 3 min"?
I really liked it and maybe i'll put it before my posts :)

The reading time for this post is approximately 3 minutes. I think when people see the reading time, they know that it's a small post and they might give it a go :)

Thanks for following. I appreciate it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30