#RelationshipGoals

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

SOUTHFORK 41.jpg


I wanted to share with you all some thoughts on romantic relationships.

The following paragraph was written by a friend of mine, Ashley, who goes by @theyogacouple on Instagram. She and her husband Matt lead by example of what it means to be in a loving, committed, compassionate and conscious relationship:

"I promise to never give up my dreams for you, but instead include you in them. I promise to never assume I am the focus of your life, but happily join you in the parts of your life you invite me to. I promise to ask you questions rather than assume I know who you are or what you need. I promise to hold myself responsible for my own happiness and share my joy with you rather than require you to supply it. I promise to respect your individuality and to stay open minded and curious as you change and grow. I vow to support your personal growth, as it's connected to my own. I vow to think highly of you and to seek to know and appreciate you for who you are as well as who you aspire to become. I vow to honor your freedom as a choice maker. I vow to be present with you emotionally, mentally and physically because it brings me joy to do so. I promise to love you, to love myself, and to nurture our sacred bond with all of my being." -@theyogacouple



My thoughts:

Easy to imagine saying this to someone you love, right? Now imagine you're saying this to someone you dislike. Maybe even hate.

Feels freaking weird and uncomfortable right?!

The kind of love we search for so desperately doesn't need to exist solely within the context of romantic relationships. Love is love is love. It's not some watered down version that accepts abuse or injustice. That's not love. But it is steadfast and resolute in a healthy way.

It's easier to give this kind of love to those we love, but more importantly, especially in these times, we are being called to transfer that same energy and intention to those around us, whether we agree with another's way of life, politics, etc. Start small. And believe me, it's easier said than done for sure, but I find that reminding myself of this helps me turn it into a habit. Because isn't that the kind of love we all want? The secret is that it doesn't just happen, though. It takes conscious effort.

Give first and you shall receive. Start with gratitude.

Sort:  

Great relationship advice here! I love this line:

I promise to hold myself responsible for my own happiness and share my joy with you rather than require you to supply it.

Too many people rely on another to make them happy, and that is way too much responsibility for anyone and too much to expect from anyone. It really stresses a relationship.

Thanks for sharing this!

Seriously grinning from ear to ear just receiving your help, I have so much gratitude. It was something so simple but it was bugging me that I couldn't figure out and I really appreciate you taking the time to help AND read! xoxoxo

Does anyone know why sometimes when I post the picture doesn't show up in the thumbnail?!

I am pretty sure it does not show in the thumbnail because the URL for the picture contains parenthesis.

Parenthesis ( ) will "close" the background-image attribute of the span that contains the image, which messes up the HTML and therefore the image does not show. It actually sounds like a steemit bug because they should encode the parenthesis so it does not do this to the HTML.

If you have this image on your computer, rename it and try it again. I think it will work fine if you take out the parenthesis from the file name.

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://steemitimages.com/DQmRu7cgT6AiRKzeBTuCR9hFfq9pub2fjTj2Bg6rZfWxu1c/SOUTHFORK%20(41).jpg

Maybe rename it southfork41.jpg and see what happens!

Oh my gosh it WORKED!! Whooo! You're so smart, thank you SO much for sharing this to help me out. So much gratitude :) Thank you thank you thank you!!!!

Glad to help! Write a post about it if you want :-) People like to read steemit articles about steemit!

I will! Good idea :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 69253.24
ETH 2750.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74