How To Handle Writing Criticism.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


As a writer or blogger, you are already open to criticism the minute your work gets published.


The chances are someone is going to dislike your content, or how you have presented your content.  They may have a point...they may not. That's life. 


If you have made every effort to do a good piece of work, then let the haters hate. 


REMEMBER on Steemit alone there is over 100,000 users. (Source: www.theblock-chain.com) if one of those people doesn't like your content...there is a chance that someone else will! This is Aubrey's account of criticism.

I am a lover not a hater, disliking any form of confrontation, but I am a little naughty. Sometimes I see a typo and I leave it there because my grammar is not perfect. I am dyslexic and I would like to think that people like me should not have to keep justifying and altering our every move. I get people pulling me up on my typo's and grammar all the time, and it's a little tedious because unfortunately I'm not in a position to have a blogging editor! It's fun sometimes too. I used to have to right very sensible reports for board members. Really influential people. Luckily I had good staff that would proof read for me before hand. One day my manager came flying in and was laughing hysterically. I had to write a mission statement. "By 2025 the immortality rates in Ashfield will have significantly decreased." I think you will understand what I was trying to say. They thought it funny and so did I. I didn't mind, they knew me, my dyslexia and my sense of humour. I love being dyslexic it's part of me. Strangers who critique out of the blue is sometimes hard to digest. My advice is to read critique, ignore irrelevant critique (Don't bite back unless it's a misunderstanding) and love critique. Yes make it your friend.
Aubrey

Aubrey has an issue with the over use of ellipse, and her dyslexic mind can miss complete words and sentances at times. She jokes that her fat fingers press the wrong keys on the small keypad, but in truth her brain is just to erratic for her fingers, meaning that sometimes she misses things but also includes random words in her work. Going back to proof read is a nightmare because it is like word blindness. Sometimes she cannot see what is wrong.

Anyway back to the headline of the blog:

How to handle criticism.

Read it thoroughly. 

Yep painful but do it...you have to understand where your critique is coming from. Is there any truth in it? Where is the evidence and what is there reason behind it? Are they trying to be helpful, egotistical or just a plain asshole?

Ignore it

Do not respond UNLESS there is a misunderstanding, or the criticism is genuinely constructive. Internet wars aren't really that great for long term reputation.

Love the criticism

If people are taking the time to criticise, then you are being noticed ! Yippee!

Don't let criticism hold you back. 





Sort:  

I think if we can write something and truly say I did my best then we can also step into a place where the criticism from others is really more of a statement about THEM, than it is a statement about our writing.

Quite agree my friend!

Upvoted and Resteamed !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44