Developing an idea into a writing business.

in #writing7 years ago

It's not easy...but it's worth it.

The picture above was a present from my son @sammywright. He is an amazing young man who 'gets' me.

When coming across obstacles, many writers will ask themselves is it worth it? 

If writing is your passion...then yes it is, but it is not easy...not all the time anyway!

I run a house, I run a few small businesses and I manage a number of developing blogs, on my website, and on Steemit. Here's a little self-employment (UK) post by @sarahewaring that may help if you are just starting out, and I have just found this detailed post by @jerrybanfield that may help bloggers in the states

My main business is not a writing one...yet, but I know enough about small business to build my passion in writing, although I have a lot to learn. My first short story was published beginning of September 2017, so I am almost six months in. I have now created my website, content and selling pages are ready, but I need to give it a big push. It's hard, I am not going to lie. 

But it is worth it.

TIME AND COMMITMENT

It is hard to create the time to write and blog effectively, when you have other responsibilities. Time is a major factor for writers, and it slows us down some what.

I TOOK BACK MY INVESTMENT

18 months, ago I wished for a way of making money through blogging, not ads, through paid blogging. It was a subconscious thought, that somehow manifested itself into a real thing. Steemit.  As a believer in the law of attraction, I believe I manifested Steemit (Not a whole thing, that would have been miraculous) I mean the opportunity. I earned enough money to start my career. A hiccup with my then editor left me in a position where I had to wait, or move forward on my own, and that is exactly what I did. You can read about my 30 day intensive learning experience of self-publishing here. I powered down on my Steemit blog to release the funds to set up my business. My blogs on Steemit also created content for my website blog.

MY EXPERIENCE AS A NEW WRITER

I am at a stage where I need to market myself, I struggled with external marketing, post publishing, due to health issues, now I'm almost fighting fit, I'm going into round two. At this point, I would like to point out that I have learned alot about writing in general from @markrmorrisjr and #dolphinschool. If you haven't already seen his bootcamp, check out his page.

MY WRITING GOALS

Time frames are tricky when you have other commitments but loose time frames are important. I now have a mascot TOMMY FOX, if you click the link, he is now on Steemit. He is travelling companion and our time is booked in to go on adventures and write, both blogs and books. I am aiming for three novels this year and some further short stories. I am also going to be venturing out into the real world, to do some book promotion. 

MOVING FORWARD- My objectives for this year

  • 30 Day Blog- Writing Journey
  • Writing Holidays with Tommy Fox (2 booked so far!)
  • 3 new novels, and 2 short story collections
  • More focus on movie reviews

It is hard work setting up a writing business, and it doesn't just stop there. I am always learning something new, and I am no expert, I am still in the very early stages, but if I can help any aspiring writers, I will.

Aubrey 








Sort:  

I envy those that have the creativity and imagination to write

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60961.08
ETH 2363.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52