The Great Gathering - Short Story

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

greatgathering 2.jpg

I couldn’t believe it! For years and years I had waited for all of my family and friends to get together – this was definitely going to be a joyous reunion!

My grandchildren – oh my grandchildren, how I have missed them! Donna was about fourteen the last time I saw her, and Carson was almost seventeen! When they get passed their teens, they come around less often. I guess spending time with grandma isn’t “hip”, but I do miss them and think about them every day.

Anytime now people should start arriving! I wonder if everyone will make it! I saw my son and daughter-in-law walk by with big platters of sandwiches, and my sister with her famous crockpot chili!

I am so happy that I will get to see all their faces again – I love my family; always have, and always will. I know they love me too, but I wish we had spent more time together through the years. Life had a way of keeping them all busy with their jobs, their own families, and their own gatherings. Sometimes time can sprint away from us faster than we can chase it.

But that is what is so wonderful about this great big gathering! Not only do I get to see all my loved ones again – they get to see each other. You see – I think over time they forget how much they miss each other, and though it is a big job, it is important to get everyone together again to show them what they have been missing. So that is what I am doing today. Being the eldest, I knew this job had fallen into my hands, for it was my mother’s job before it was mine, and my grandmother’s job before that.

You would think that we all would have learned this big lesson years ago, because it is the same lesson that repeats itself over and over again – to spend time with family and loved ones while they are still living.

Though I am unable to attend this family gathering in person, I am attending it in spirit. It makes me smile to see all of them together in one room – and just to see me! I love my family more than anything, and hopefully this, my funeral, will bring them back together again.

In life, the irreplaceable are usually the overlooked. Though life can be busy – never forget to set aside time to spend with your loved ones – those moments will be cozy memories to keep you company when they are no longer able to.

Well, the show’s about to start, so it is time for me to bid farewell! I don’t want to miss a moment of this reunion, for they happen so infrequently – but maybe today will change that!


Thanks for reading! :)


Steemit banner image 1.jpg

Sort:  

Wow , Very good story .. And so true , Makes you think , upvoted

The love of family is of a great importance, and being together is sure way to show this love. Never forget to spent quality time with your even if is once in a blue moon

@artist1989, Absolutely brilliant blog post sharing to the community. We have remember some thing in this new year start. If we are busy more but don't forget to keep time with our lovelies. If we can successfully giving time to others they'll salute us.
So try to keep smile in this whole year.

Peaceful and prosperous new year to you and all.

This brought tears to my eyes as i read this. How you perfectly knit the story that would really touch the inner daughter in me. We sometime tend to take for granted the people who truly matters. Thank you for this timely reminder @artist1989

It was indeed beautiful buddy :)
The true meaning of life is indeed about the family being together but the reality does makes it harder but we should be together at all times.
Happy New Year buddy !

love is always a bonding and get together, share time with them and make a family where you can find the rejoice, could be make anywhere and situation, happy new year.

Really amazing post @artist1989
Wish you have a healthy new year 2018

Wow that's is so amazing nice way to start off the 2018
May this New Year brings you a peace filled life, warmth and togetherness in your family and much prosperity! Happy New Year!

very well written! happy newyear!

excellent story writing is always top class no doubt :) Happy New Year

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52