Cold grass on the summer morning.

in #writing7 years ago

Grass.PNG


I spent years in the same apartment block. I was cooped up, listening to my neighbors argue or the constant drone of a loud TV.

There was a small park in walking distance, but no one went there other than to smoke weed, and get into fights. I longed for nature, but that was the equivalent of a poster of a tree to me.

I spent a good while working on my night shift job - and finally was able to move out. I moved several states over, into the country. The land I purchased was deep and wooded - I could yell my lungs out and never have another human hear me. I loved it.

The cabin was practical, but not boring. There was plenty of firewood in the wood house to fuel the stove - for warmth and cooking. I had plenty of food stored and lots of different gadgets and mechanisms to survive off the land. I was off the grid, but I could use my truck could easily get me to a grocery store in three hours if I needed to.

I liked the solitude. The cabin was in a clearing with lots of space around it. The sun rays would kiss through the treetop canopy, and I often spent my time relaxing in the clearing under the warmth of the sun rays, watching birds by the treeline, or a cautious rabbit hop in the distance.

I was able to sit back on a warm checkered blanket - heated by the love of the sun - and just watch the big billowy clouds pass by overhead. It was, calming.

My favorite thing was the summer mornings. When I lived In the apartment block, I was always up at night - I liked it - probably because of the solitude, but I missed the sun and longed for nature.

Now my life has changed.

I would wake up in the morning, and breath deeply, walking outside to stretch. I would prepare myself a hearty bowl of oatmeal seasoned with strawberries and sugar - and chocolate chips if I wanted to treat myself.

I would walk around the yard eating the oatmeal and feeling the cool morning dew on my feet - feeling the earth and the cold grass - it was ethereal.

Then after that I would lay on the checkered blanket, and lay down - finishing my oatmeal, I would lay back observing as the clouds would cast themselves overhead.

Finally, I would breath deeply filling my lungs with the deep essence of nature,

and I would smile, because it was a lovely day.

Sort:  

This was really beautiful to read. Thank you for sharing.

I'm glad to hear that :)

Love this!

I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Man, the way you described it. pure class

breathe in, breathe out - lovely

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60930.55
ETH 2367.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48