Bad qualities of a typical Finn - or a typical human being?

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

There are some special aspects in being Finnish and I hope you might find some Finnish traits in yourself, as they might be more or less found around the world. As far as I've met people around the world, these are the ones I feel are lacking the most in other people.

69569_10152250975259788_1154517426_n.jpg
Photo taken with a crappy phone camera, sorry.

  • Being happy when someone else will not succeed
    It doesn't matter if you lost, as long as the other person won't win either.

  • Being ashamed and sorry for everything
    When Finns lose in sports, they feel ashamed. When Finns win in sports, they feel ashamed to win in such a marginal sport while someone else must have been better.

  • Hate and love of rules
    You tell everybody you're against regulations, but still you want to ban your neighbors from doing whatever you don't want to do yourself. "I don't want a barbeque so we need a law to stop barbeques"

  • Getting depressed in sunlight
    Ok, this may not be only a Finnish thing, but there is a peak in suicides in spring as amount of light will start to increase. It seems that eternal darkness might suit Finns the best.

  • Love and hate for taxes
    We hate to pay taxes, but we feel that everybody else should pay more taxes. We complain about tax evasion while driving to by liquor from Estonia, as the taxes for liquor are way lower in there.

  • Being cheap in most cases
    You can drive a 20 year old car and you don't want to take it for repairs as it's too pricey, but you spend 2500€ to go abroad to watch soccer.. while passing out in the hotel and never seeing the soccer match.

  • Being upset about everything
    Nothing is never good enough to be a bit upset about it. If you get 100€ for free, you'll feel sad for not getting any more.

  • Not being to understand happiness
    If someone smiles to you at the street, the person is either drunk, on drugs or crazy.

Nothing is never good, life is always sad or it should be. I'm sad about this post, it's not as good as if someone else had done it.

Sort:  

Sounds hard work being Finnish? There again, met a very happy group of Finns in Bar Roma, Courmayeur, Italy - apres ski. They seemed to know how to party!

It is hard. Hardest part is to tolerate other Finns - or even worse, foreigners who are so different than us.

If you met the Finns at a bar, they were most likely drunk. The only way Finns can feel happiness ;)

Hah, great read! :D pretty accurate as well.

Luckily we're not all like this, but it should be somewhat accurate..

My friend told me yesterday that their.. house community (??) had to take off their grill as one resident had complained about it being too close to forst and being a fire hazard.

So no more barbeques because of a.. fire hazard. Yay.

Luckily indeed :D would be a depressing country :D really? haha that sucks..

I know and you can imagine how much it sucks to meet something like that.

But to be honest, it's also forbidden to have any kind of barbeques in our house or in the yard. Not allowed in the balcony, not allowed in the garden, not allowed anywhere. They're waying even electric grills are forbidden. Lucky for us we have summer cottage :)

Yeah, it's the same here where I'm stayimg. Most finns have to rely on summer cottages to get any kind of bbq going. But maybe that's good in a way. Wouldn't be too nice to have bbq smoke coming in from the neighbors to your apartment every day :F

Well the biggest issue would be that I'd get hungry all the time :(

I feel sorry for all who don't have a summer cottage of their own, so some have no place to have a barbeque in.

Sometimes i feel like you Finns are too hard on yourselves or on others. probably that is the reason.

It may be true, but I can actually see how the general attitude towards everything is changing :)

Maybe not as much as is needed, but going towards a better world.

Thanks, I'm happy you enjoyed it :)

This post appeals to me. :)
Don't forget to follow me @donny-indrapati

It's nice to hear :)

Even though I'm not fan of promoting yourself in comments, I can check out your profile and see you have anything good in there.

All the best for the future :)

Thank you @apsu, if you think it's good, upvote.
I will resteem your post. This is good to me :)

What is the language you are posting on? I didn't check the resteems, but it seems at least your recent posts are written in something else than English :O

It is Indonesian.
But I have also made an english post at the bottom.

I can see that :) I read them through. I saw you had a photography post too, if you're into photography, try to do more of that! Photos have no language and we all understand them :)

Thank you very much @apsu :)

Describes us British to a T lol :)

Ha, I knew it :) Brits and Finns have something similar, but it's not the good looks but the bad nature which we hold dear.

Lol Very true :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by apsu from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Beautiful scenery and excellent shooting. I really like this post. Success continues for you sir @apsu

Somehow I missed this comment completely, thanks! It's nice to hear these kinds words.

I love Vietnam but one of my main problems with the people is that they're too friendly.

Usually it's a positive thing in my life, but sometimes I get tired having to smile and be nice all day. Just wish some people were dicks so I could spend my energy more productively by hating them.

I can't imagine being in a place like that! We should send a group of settlers to build up a new town in Vietnam, so we can have climate of Vietnam but filled with depressed and grumpy people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50