Do we hate in others that which we hate in ourselves?

in #writing5 years ago

Do we hate in others that which we hate in ourselves?
I've heard this idea thrown around quite a bit lately, especially in the sort of New Age/esoteric crowds and..
I'm trying to understand it.

I DO very often see people who complain about things in others that they themselves are guilty of.
However.. Part of my difficulty comes when I think about how I complain about war and genocide and slavery and animal cruelty and theft and unfaithfulness and lying and all these things that I don't feel like I am complicit in..

So I have to wonder.. If I am unhappy with these qualities in others and it's a reflection of what I am unhappy about with myself.. How does that work since I'm not engaged in war or genocide or enslaving others or conscious deliberate animal cruelty or knowingly stealing from them, I've never been unfaithful in a romantic sense and I feel like I don't barely ever lie about anything ever unless it's an extreme need to try to protect someone from serious harm?

I also have to wonder.. If I were to not become upset at all of these what I consider "immoral" things, what would that do to my moral fiber and my understanding of right and wrong and.. My emotional humanity?

Is it even desirable to not get upset at injustice? I feel like I would become a robot or an unfeeling creature..
I've said before that the part of me that still cares about others is the best part of me, and who would I be, would I even be a human if I didn't feel empathy about the bad things that happen?

This sure is one of the harder sort of spiritual/New Age/esoteric concepts for me to try to wrap my brain around..
Would appreciate it if anyone has any insight into this and if they would share that insight.
Thanks for your time! Peace.

Sort:  

Regarding "New Age", I recommend overview by Mark Passio:

"New Age" is a mumbo-jumbo of mostly idiotic chatter from "people" who seem to practice dark occultism or are influenced by such...

I'd definitely recommend against equating "New Age" with spiritual practices which are thousands years old and can be applied/experienced repeatedly, and result in internalizing e.g. golden rule & natural law.. because what "New Age" cultists say/do has mostly or never anything to do with internalizing these most basic things..

I've seen his 8 hour long lecture on New Age bullshit and I'm well aware of his position on things and agree with a lot of it, however I've also grown up in Sedona which is one of the New Age mechas of the world and I have new age friends and family and I wish to try to understand them better and I just like to try to listen to all different perspectives and sides and form my own opinion rather than just listening to one guy like Mark Passio as much as I do respect a lot of what he says, there's also some stuff I disagree with that he says.. So.. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for the suggestion, though I'm still curious to investigate this personally and manually and hear from people who believe these things as to what they think.

Mark is certainly not the only person claiming such as in clip I linked to, he does condense these very well; clip is 10-minute long by the way...

McDonalds spirituality like new-age and similar are very harmful... There's nothing "absolutist" in stating facts... Something that twists upside down or simply lacks most basic teachings - which certainly are not Mark Passio's but, again, he summarizes these - creates damaged people...

I didn't mean to imply that I thought Mark Passio is the only one saying such kinds of things or that he is your only source either. Though I see how it could look that way based on the words I used. I definitely could have worded myself better.

However I think it's important for me to explore such concepts myself individually and try to do it in an honest and fair way rather than to just take someone elses, or multiple other peoples word for it and I try to do that in every realm of understanding not just the New Age one.

I also think that oftentimes people like Mark or others tend to broad brush subjects like the New Age and sort of paint it all in a specific fear mongering way though if you get deep into the details you'll likely find that the New Age people pull info from all different kinds of sources and not just those which are being injected by the NWO or the dark occult or whichever nefarious group.

In regards to absolutism and stating facts, I'm not sure I agree. When people use the word fact they are claiming "this is true" thus they are claiming that what they are saying is absolute. And the more I learn the more I learn how few facts there really are, also when you choose to believe in something you eliminate all other possibilities so I want to be careful in regards to what I latch on to and believe as truth, so I think it's important to personally research things, and Mark Passio is part of that research but not the only part, I think like in a crime scene or legal situation in a courtroom you would want to get each parties side and not just one of them. That's what I am trying to do, I'm trying to get both points of view.

Thanks for sharing the video and your perspective and I will make an effort to watch the 10 min clip you provided when I get a chance.

Interesting post. I supposed there is some truth to the opening statement. But I don't think that we can generalize things as such. And I think people tend to overthink. It is not necessarily to have a reason, or rather to know the reason for everything.
I like to say 'Life is... things are...' Nothing is absolutely black nor white, right nor wrong. We do the best that we can with what we have.

Thanks for the feedback quotes-haven! It's nice to hear from you again. I always appreciate your insight and thoughts.

I definitely agree with your assertions, I think there's truth to it but also that it's a lot more complex than simple sort of "catchy" sayings.

Too often people tend to try to encapsulate things into small easy to say phrases, yet.. I think a lot of detail is often lost in that process and that can become a problem.

Anyways.. Hope you've been doing well!

Well said. :-)

I am well, thank you. I hope life is treating you kindly too. Cheers!

Short answer... Yes, I see this a lot. People seem to dislike in others things that they do that they can self-justify. Not sure why, maybe I'm only doing myself a bit of confirmation bias... But in general, I don't think people reflect much upon their own actions.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts bengy! I agree with your sentiments however I can't help but feel like there's more to the story in the sense that it might not always be so black and white and so cut and dry. And still having difficulty understanding how I hate certain things in others that I can't seem to find in myself? But maybe those things are deep down in there somewhere and that perhaps we all have that potential to do those things on some level.

Well, for the bigger things that you mention, what I said is less pertinent... however, for small things... like queue cutting or little things like that, I think people see it when it is done to them, but not so much when they cause it to others!

Thanks for clarifying and going into more detail! I tend to agree, however I'm still trying to figure out why many people use the language they do and.. Perhaps there is something to it.. I'm not sure.

I have heard that as well. I think your reflection on the idea is interesting. Thinking about it myself, in this moment and pondering on your question , I personally do believe that there is truth in that statement but also that it's not the whole story. For instance, you disliking these immoral characteristics that you see in society isnt solely based on that one principle. There are other things at play as well. (I.e. empathy, rational and logical thinking, critical analysis, bias and cognitive heuristics, ego...etc) all of those things are also at play in the formulation of ones values and beliefs. Great topic to ponder :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and humbleness to reflect and consider something without jumping to absolute conclusions one way or the other.
It is an interesting topic to think about, and I've been thinking about it for a while and still not totally sure what to think and may never totally be sure, heh.. Though I think some of these kinds of things make more or less sense the more we dwell on them over long periods of time, so hopefully in time we get closer to an answer. :) I agree with your sentiments by the way, I think there's some truth to it but there's more to the story and it's not necessarily a simple black and white answer.

I am with you about this New Age - esoteric concept. I have not heard of this and really don't understand either. Maybe if the word 'hate' is changed to "love" then it is easy to associate ourselves with others.

Nice to hear from you angiemitchell! It is a weird idea, though I think maybe there's some truth to it though it's likely not so simple as how so many people claim it is. Also I like your thoughts at the end there! If only more people thought like that, though I do think hate itself is a form of love, just a sort of oftentimes misguided form.. Yet not always, I think some hate can be righteous and very human to express, when we see someone being victimized it seems like a normal healthy response to me, though I suppose I could be wrong..?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85