Celebrating A Mother - The Power of Positivity

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

One day , a small child came from school and gave a paper to his mother. He said to her "Mom, my teacher gave this paper to me and told me only you are to read it. What does it says" 

Her eyes welled with tears as she read the letter out loud to her child.....

 "Your son is a genius. This school is too small for him and doesn't have enough good teachers to train him. Please teach him yourself."

His mother did just that until she fell ill and passed away

Many years after Edison's mother died, he became one of the greatest inventors of the century.

One day, he was going through some of her things and found the folded letter that his old teacher wrote his mother that day.  He opened it.... 

The message written on the letter was 

"your son is mentally deficient, we cannot let him attend our school anymore. He is expelled."

Edison became emotional reading it and then wrote in his diary:

" Thomas A. Edison was a mentally deficient child whose mother turned him into the genius of the century."

Thomas Edison was an American inventor who lived between 1847 - 1931.


Hmmmmm,  this is truly an inspiring story of a mother. 

For the love of a mother is like no other. 

I love you mum 

Happy Mother's day in advance 

Thanks for reading 


source
Sort:  

This is inspiring, it takes a good mum to do what Edison's mother did. I appreciate my mum too for being a good woman behind my successes and existence! *Orisa b'iya osi, iya lalabaro omo. Thanks.

Yea ,it takes a good and a wise mother. And I like your proverb to support it.
*Orisa b'iya osi, iya lalabaro omo. - A Yoruba proverb meaning there is no deity like mother, the comforter of a child. Thanks really appreciate

My pleasure!👏

Wow, I didn't know this story... So inspiring. This shows how teachers sometimes can have limitations, which only the love of a mother can overcome.
It's incredible what true love can do

Now you know my dear. Even me too just got to see it recently and it got me really emotional the first time I read it. I fell in love with the story is such a great man.

This really captivates the beauty of a mother, shows that a mother can go to any length to protect her child. It's an inspirational story that will live for ages and ages to come. Thomas Edison is regarded as a great inventor of the 20th century

Oh yeah, I must say I kept reminiscing over such a mother. I kept thinking she must have being so wise to know the effect of negative judgement. This is what the school didn't realise

Hi! Great post. I did a research about Edison some weeks ago and i discovered that his mom was the unseen hand behind his success as an inventor and as a person. She was a great woman of faith and she believed in her son against all odds. Thank God i'm blessed with not just a mother but with two pple belief in me even when the world says otherwise.

Wow, that's great to know@kingsyrus. I pray they help you reach your peak in life

This is really touching. I can't imagine how hard his mom had gone through.

Oh yeah, it is so emotional. I kept on imagining things as I was reading it. She really connected with her son on a different level and that is the level that makes a child to be great in life

Wow really inspiring story of a mother's love to her child. It's a story that goes to show that a mother can make or Mar an innocent child by the words of her mouth. It's a good thing to have a mother who protects her child no matter what

Am happy you felt that way as I was also attracted to the story by the sheer love of a mother

Love this @apiprincz. The wisest of the child's significant adults understand nature's gift of impressionability. They encourage children (of all ages) to seek their own, inner teacher. My late great mentor, Dr. Elisabeth Caspari (a direct student of Maria Montessouri) told us often, "Always act and speak as though a little child is watching." They are.

Hmmmm, you must have learned from a great woman, I will love to know who you really are @ktfabler. I know there must be something different about you. Thanks for visiting my blog

My pleasure @apiprincz. Madame Caspari was my teacher. She lived to 101, was in her 90's when I sat at her feet. I'll probably do a piece on her, thanks to your inspiring story here you reminded me. And...who am I really? Hmm, I guess I'll leave that to the philosophers, along with "Why am I here...etc. Short version: just a homebody who loves to read and write. Looking out for the good story, happy to have found yours here...you-made-my-day.jpg

This is indeed inspiring @apiprincz, I had a pretty good knowledge of Thomas Edison, but I wasn't aware of this side of the story. Good content brother. Keep this up. Steemon!

Yeah, even me too. I just got to learnt about this story recently and I was overwhelmed by the sheer love coming from a mother. Thanks for visiting my blog

This is a very moving story! A great mother!

Am happy you said so. Thanks for visiting my blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61292.26
ETH 3430.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51