You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Representation Matters: Why kids need LGBT characters

in #writing6 years ago

Oh yes @maracuja, this sounds quite a bit like what I went through. I dearly wish everybody have learned in school before ... that I am"normal" ....

This would have made our live so much easier.

I am so sad I experienced in Germany, that it is even worse today, than it was years ago. Many friends from our LGBT community moved out of the country and so did I and my husband. I hope so much, that there will a time in the future, a time in that we all have no longer to fear for so many things that can happen to us.... .... ... I think it is still a long way to go ...
xx

Sort:  

I'm so sorry that you had to leave Germany because of this, and I'm glad that you've been able to make a life elsewhere where you feel safe. I lived in Germany for just over a year and loved it, I had no idea the German LGBT community was struggling. I hope things will improve there soon.

Germany changed a lot within the last year. I remember the time when I felt free in Berlin. Those days are long gone unfortunately. The metropolitan areas are so different today. So glad you had a good time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44