You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Suicide By Degrees (A 'Constrained Writing' Short Story)

in #writing6 years ago

I've been thinking about this one too. At the time I first read it I was in a hurry so I upvoted, but ever since then It's been on my mind. The reason is because I understand exactly this feeling of smoking so much during times of stress and with the full knowledge of how deadly it eventually it will be.

I think many smokers come to this realization at some point when smoking. I've blown through a pack of smokes in a night sitting under the moonlight with crickets chirping lost in my dark thoughts. In a way the smoke is like a tether to this world - it burns, it's real. It becomes painful. Only when the last one is smoked in the pack can one sleep having met the challenge to finish the pack. It's a mind game that is unhealthy but occupies the mind when it needs to be occupied in order to survive.

It's very morbid, no doubt, to see it as a temporary not-dying-today, but definitely later, kind of thinking. But it's so very true and something I suspect other people who smoked cigarettes can relate to.

Thank you @calluna for writing in such a way that really captures this.

Sort:  

I agree, actually.
I don't smoke myself, but have found myself at times with these same (or at least likewise) thoughts. There have been numerous nights I've just gone out and sat down somewhere in the middle of nowhere, looking up at the stars and just thinking about how... today I am.. Tomorrow I might not be. And such.

I believe that smoking - and the addiction to it - is mostly because you allow yourself to free your mind for that five minutes, and just let go of everything around you. But I believe you could train yourself to do the exact same thing with something other than actually smoking, hence replacing one habit with another if desired.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53