Broken

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I was on my way
to meet a new beginning
But instead of you there
only tragedy was waiting

The writing on the wall
I should have read it more loudly
What if only I'd been there
I wonder how today would be

Now the ground beneath my feet
it's shifting into quick sand
Wherever I look there's no one left
who can take my hand

All of the pain in the world
who else can feel it?
The weight's too much for one
Together, we could have bared it

We'd turn our shields into kites
and ride the Winds of Chaos
We'd gather up this storm
and make it rain the Lord's glory

We'd remould our fears, vulnerabilities
into Grace and batteries
And power ourselves up to manifest
a brighter reality

We'd gather up the lost
and help the Spirit find them
They'd throw down their arms
and join hands
to sing Kumbaya under the stars

They'd throw down their anger
for love
And they'd realize all they can do
And remember the power they have
to make their dreams comes true

We'd make them remember their Oneness

And we'd never stop telling stories
About this little light of mine
and that little light of yours
And oh, how these lights would have lit up the night sky

But now, I'm without you
I'm not sure where I'm going
I'm not sure what to do
I can't feel anything
The waves have left me

Wherever I look
there's nothing to see
Everything is so dark
Is there anyone left
who can even hear me?

This emptiness, so profound
It's been a reminder
of how I've tried to forget
all the time that I've borrowed
But what have I done with it?

This body, it's hurting
This heart, it's breaking
I'm so tired
How do I pick up these pieces?

Do I seize a new day?
Or are you coming
to bring me home?

For David
Rest in peace my fellow traveler, I miss you

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by annie.oakley from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25