Journal From a Submariner III

in #writing7 years ago

DATE 02SEP10, TIME 2342
I just ate the best mid-rats meal we have on board anymore, grilled ham & cheese, and tomato soup. Of course, it was out the window, so we only got two sandwiches…bullshit.
I’m doing my laundry now, waiting for clean up. So far, I’m very glad I started writing this journal because while I’m on watch, I’m always thinking of what I’m going to put next. Well not thinking what to write, but when I think now, I have to remember it to write it down. My thoughts have a purpose; they’re not just there to keep my mind occupied for 6 hours.
Today we were talking about how math was our best subject in school. I say it’s mine because there is no opinion involved in math, you can read a paragraph on how to do something, and it will work every time. Then I started thinking of when I was back home on leave, between CT and HI, and I was helping Delta with her math homework. I hadn’t done math in so long, but all I had to do was read the beginning of the chapter, and I helped her with her homework.
Then I started thinking how I was missing that kind of thing. Next time we go home they’re all going to be so grown up, and I will not have witnessed it. When I left for boot camp Jessie, and I didn’t really get along, and Austin’s homework was still too easy for him to need help.
I really just wish I could be there to be a part of them growing up. Fuck I miss them so much, Delta included.
I am so glad my mom found Fred, without him I would not be able to be my own man because I would always be worrying about them, now I can spend my time worrying about you. I can’t wait to have kids of our own, so we can parent them, and help them through school, and go on adventures with them. Love you, forever and always, love babe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64281.02
ETH 3503.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54