Getting back into doing podcast interviews

in #writing8 years ago

Since first publishing my first novel Love Child in 2011, I have managed to land only four podcast interviews since that time. I know that doesn't sound good, and it isn't, especially since I've published nine books since that time. Nine self published books since that time. 

I need to point out how much I love writing. Since childhood I have been writing. My most vivid memories stretch back to the fifth grade when my essay on snow was chosen as one of the four best of my class that year. 

My love for writing is probably the main reason why I write and write, while not promoting my books the way I should if I want or hope for people to buy them. We can't control who buys our books, but we can control how we promote them, and I've done my share of promoting here and there since 2011, but I must explore my failures in this area.

My first podcast interview took place with Miss Jovial a woman who was nice enough to give me ten minutes on her show (maybe a little more) I was excited about the interview. She gave me the questions she would be asking me ahead of time to allow me to prepare for it, but even doing that wasn't enough to help me relax in time for the big day. 

I was nervous and worse than that I sounded nervous. Some listeners liked the interview though some say I sound a little nervous, but I thought I sounded very nervous. I hated not feeling more confident and relaxed for the interview. And if I'm honest with myself it's probably one of the reasons why I haven't seriously pursued as many interviews, and even book signings since that interview. The other interviews I was just as nervous, but excited too. Publishing nine books was no easy task, but there are times I'm lost in where to start when it comes to promoting them. Where to find interviews. Of course for self published authors podcast interviews are the best places to start. This is where I hope to start again. 

Writing more blogs (I'm hoping writing here on steemit is a beginning) can help too, for writing as much as possible is important to make your writing as visible as possible. But if you're a writer who wants to establish yourself in some way, then you need to believe in yourself, in your writing. You need to promote it if you want people to read it. If you hope to sell your books, you need to let people know they exist. Do I believe in my writings, in my books? Yes I do. But I've always struggled with shyness. I guess its fair to say that five years ago, I was getting started, and while I was excited in finding a way to get published, I was unsure of handling an interview because of my nerves and shyness. I feel more confident now, and believe I wouldn't sound so nervous if I find new opportunities now.  I'm hopeful, but determined. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65678.25
ETH 2669.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88